Mic input not working at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 9th, 2009, 06:35 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: arlington, texas
Posts: 420
Mic input not working

For some reason my mic input on my 5D Mark II isn't working... maybe I am just missing something. I tested a mic with my mini disc recorder and it worked fine, but when I plug it into my 5D I don't get any audio from the mic.

Anyone have any thoughts on this?

I'm shooting with movie display.
Cody Dulock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2009, 06:45 AM   #2
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Specific details on the mic, please?
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2009, 11:41 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camas, WA, USA
Posts: 5,513
Does the mic require phantom power or a battery?
__________________
Jon Fairhurst
Jon Fairhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2009, 02:38 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 37
Are you just listening to the clips on your camera or have you copied them to your computer and listened? I ask because I had the same problem, I connected a Rode NTG-2 using an XLR to mini adapter and when I would record a clip and play it back there was no audio despite the fact that I had the volume on the camera maxed out... anyway, I copied the clips that I thought had no audio to my computer and the audio played just fine on there. I still don't know why the audio recorded with an external mic doesn't play back on my camera though... recorded audio with the internal mic plays back just fine.
Dana Rice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2009, 06:59 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: arlington, texas
Posts: 420
It actually worked with one microphone that uses a battery, but I didn't have a battery installed.

I also tried using an SM58 and that didn't work.

In one clip i wiggled the cable and it cut in and out... so i might have a faulty cable or input jack.
Cody Dulock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2009, 07:48 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camas, WA, USA
Posts: 5,513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cody Dulock View Post
... so i might have a faulty cable or input jack.
You could test it by plugging the cable into a PC soundcard mic input, and attempting to record into the PC.
__________________
Jon Fairhurst
Jon Fairhurst is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:12 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network