Wired / Wireless remote IR control at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 26th, 2009, 11:40 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Frederick MD
Posts: 69
Wired / Wireless remote IR control

I saw a few posts referencing something like this so I thought I'd post this.

I wanted to be able to start the video record without having to press the set button on the camera (incase it's not accessible due to location or other crap I may have put on the rails that might be in the way). No wired remote I am aware of does this (please correct me if I am wrong) and with the IR remote you have to have it pointed at the front of the camera. The easiest solution I suppose would have been to just put a mirror on the front so I could shoot the IR from behind and bounce it. But since I never do anything simple I had to make this:
















Basically I ripped out the circuit board of a Canon RC-1 IR remote, I replaced the trigger button on the circuit board with a panel mounted one. I took off the emitter and soldered on a mono 1/8" female jack and then made it all run off of a 9 volt battery (I hate those small button batteries) and then stuffed it in a little black project box. Now I can take an IR emitter bug and plug it into the box and run it to the front of the camera whilst I remain where I want (as long as the cable reaches). The emitter in the picture I made short but I tested with a 10ft one and it worked to.

Just thought I would share another crazy project with you guys.
Total cost including the RC-1 was probably about $80-90
John Saunders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2009, 12:00 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tartu, Estonia
Posts: 579
I'm actually waiting for my $5 (incl shipping) IR remote (RC-5 analog) from China to make a trigger like this but with SPDIF optical cable.

Was the RC-5 also compatible for triggering movie rec?

Cheers,
T
Toenis Liivamaegi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2009, 12:12 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Frederick MD
Posts: 69
I believe so. From what I gather (and i have tested a lot of them) no wired remote will start the video. Any ir remote that has a 2 second delay switch will. I think....
John Saunders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2009, 08:00 AM   #4
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
That's great -- thanks a ton for sharing these photos, John!
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2009, 11:00 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tartu, Estonia
Posts: 579
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Saunders View Post
Any ir remote that has a 2 second delay switch will. I think....
And the ones without 2sec delay wont? I mean there are many one switched ones out there.

John, by the way, I see you are using SD MixPre. How are you recording the output or are you going straight to 5D?

T

Last edited by Toenis Liivamaegi; March 27th, 2009 at 02:39 PM.
Toenis Liivamaegi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2009, 01:53 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Frederick MD
Posts: 69
I am currently doing a double setup so my sd goes to a sony pcm-d50 for recording and I have a at897 shotgun that I mount to the rails and run straight into the camera for a backup. I can also run the sd to the camera as well if I want to sync that way.
John Saunders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2009, 09:40 PM   #7
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 2
Canon 5d Remote wired video control device

Very ingenius! Did you need to drop the 9v using resistor?
Harry Rabin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2009, 12:15 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Frederick MD
Posts: 69
yeah I used a adjustable voltage regulator that I had laying around. It's total over kill but it's what I had :)
John Saunders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2010, 07:26 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Glasgow, United Kingdom
Posts: 176
Set Button Remote

Hello All, its been a year since this was posted, does anyone know if there is now a remote that controls the set button?

With regards

Jeff
Jeff Murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2010, 10:43 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,498
is there a way for wired remote that would not have that 2 sec delay?
Sean Seah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2010, 03:24 AM   #11
Tourist
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bristol
Posts: 1
2s delay

This is just the mode you use to operate the remote, in LiveView mode for video there is no delay
Mark Corderoy is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:43 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network