Firmware update now available (link) at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 1st, 2009, 08:09 PM   #1
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Firmware update now available (link)

Just received from Canon USA:

---------------------------------------------

Hello,

This is a courtesy e-mail to inform you that the hotly anticipated firmware update for the EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera is now available.

This new firmware will accommodate a great number of user requests for manual exposure control in the EOS 5D Mark II video mode. Manual exposure control while shooting video on the EOS 5D Mark II is expected to make a big impact with cinematographers and videographers using the 5D Mark II for high-end HD video production.

Please follow the link below to the EOS 5D Mark II product page on the Canon U.S.A. Web site to download the new firmware. Let us know if you have any questions, thank you.

Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera


---------------------------------------------

Click the Drivers & Downloads tab, then select:

Firmware Update Version 1.0.7 -- 9.09 MB -- 01/07/2009
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2009, 08:14 PM   #2
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Who's got the first upgrade report? I'd do it myself but it's time to go outside and do evening chores (country living is great).
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2009, 08:17 PM   #3
Wizard Status
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hurd View Post
Who's got the first upgrade report?
I'm flashing it now and will report when I have a dump of the ROM's for further analysis...

EDIT: It looks like manual control in video mode only works when "Movie Display" is selected. In "Stills display" and "Exposure simulation" it still would stop down my lens.

EDIT: There also appears to be a full-time 16:9 matte displayed in LiveView.

Last edited by Tramm Hudson; June 2nd, 2009 at 07:39 AM. Reason: Fulltime matte
Tramm Hudson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2009, 08:19 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 340
I have it loaded and looking for controls

Last edited by Bob Thompson; June 1st, 2009 at 08:41 PM. Reason: spelling
Bob Thompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2009, 08:22 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 991
Just got installed! The amount of control is such a sigh of relief!!! It feels like a much more of a camera now with the Manual feature.

Now that we have the ability to control all 3 aspects while recording, there is need for dials without indents... it's very difficult to adjust the top dial without the camera rocking when shooting handheld.. But that's asking way to much out of the 5D2...

It's awesome as it is!
Yang Wen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2009, 08:22 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 542
I've updated. Reading new manual pages right now (see pdf).
Bill Binder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2009, 08:25 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 340
Go to liveview and put the camera into M mode and you can make all the adjustments
Bob Thompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2009, 08:30 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 991
They also seem to have fixed the frame drop issue when the aperture changes... I don't have a variable aperture zoom lens on hand but I changed the aperture while recording and no frame drops as far as I can tell!
Yang Wen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2009, 08:34 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 340
Tramm,

Thanks for all your help in getting Canon to come out with the firmware update, now just waiting for your audio controls and zebras.

Thanks so much

Bob
Bob Thompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2009, 08:35 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 542
OMG... They are going to make a lot of ppl very happy today.

This is the way it should have been out of the box no doubt. THANK. YOU. CANON.

It looks like you can't be in exposure simulation mode to use it, which I kind of liked because you could bring up a live histogram, but whatever, THIS FRAKIN' ROCKS!
Bill Binder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2009, 08:41 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Beijing
Posts: 665
Chris,

I've actually been playing with the new firmware for a few days now and can report it all works in the way I anticipated. You'll want to set ISO exapnd if you haven't already to get the full range of ISOs.

Dan
Dan Chung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2009, 08:44 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Voorheesville, NY
Posts: 433
Dan,

Are the files still marked as 30.00 fps or are they 29.97 fps? Also, do the shutter and aperture show up correctly on the LCD in movie mode? I don't have a 5d2 (Yet, heh heh), but I do have to contend with editing the files. Thanks.

J
Jay Bloomfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2009, 08:59 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 340
With manual focus lenses just push the AF-ON button and you can tell your exposure within the + & - 2 range
Bob Thompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2009, 09:03 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Beijing
Posts: 665
Jay,

Framerate in the file info still shows up as 30fps. The LCD does display correctly, check out this thread http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/canon-eos...right-now.html

Funny nobody noticed!

Dan
Attached Thumbnails
Firmware update now available (link)-framerate.tiff  
Dan Chung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2009, 09:07 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Voorheesville, NY
Posts: 433
Dan,

Thanks. The frame rate is a minor annoyance, but at least the LCD display of settings works. I can't believe I missed that in your thread.

J
Jay Bloomfield is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:28 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network