Mini-HDMI cable for 5D - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 27th, 2009, 01:35 PM   #16
Wizard Status
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Daigon View Post
Tramm, Im trying to find the same cable you are using in a 3 foot length. Can you tell me if it is a HDMI A to HDMI C Male to Male ?
From what I can tell, that's it.

I've posted the first photo of Magic Lantern using the DP1 HDMI display. The firmware needs to be booted with the cable plugged in and the bitmap display doesn't line up anymore, but the first step is mostly working.

EDIT: The log file shows the switch to 480 mode, although the frame buffer doesn't seem to change size. This gives me hope.
[pre]
4125: 17140.743 [BmpDDev] ChangePhysicalScreen (PUB) 0x43F80008
4126: 17146.936 [BIND] bindReceiveNewTFTOLC
4127: 17146.995 [GUI_E] GUI_Control:59 0x88f05c
4128: 17147.088 [MAGIC] Event: 0, 3b, 88f05c, 7
4129: 17151.243 [GUI] HDMI_VIDEO_CODE 5
4130: 17151.347 [DISP] SetDisplayType (PUB) 5->3, fDisplayTurnOn=1
4131: 17151.401 [DISP] WARN PB Reset(2783)
4132: 17151.602 [HDMI] ConnectHDMI : Already Connected
4133: 17151.718 [HDMI] Pana_TurnOnHDMI (Audio = 1)
4134: 17151.767 [HDMI] hdmiWaitForStat (stat = 1)
4135: 17153.689 [HDMI] hdmiWaitForStat : OK (3)
4136: 17153.886 [DISP] SetPBForHDMI DispType=3 fChange=1 HDMIInit=0
4137: 17154.190 [HDMI] ### 0x17d31d, EOS 5D Mark II
4138: 17154.243 [HDMI] Pana_TurnOnHDMI : EDID_COLOR_444
4139: 17154.271 [HDMI] Pana_TurnOnHDMI : FULL_HD_60
4140: 17154.393 [HDMI] hdmiWaitForAvreq (V = 1, 3, A = 1, 1)
4148: 17239.091 [IMP] [FEN] _ProcessFencingC 1510
4156: 17357.661 [HDMI] hdmiWaitForAvreq : OK (V = 0, A = 0, sink = 2)
4157: 17357.686 [HDMI] Pana_TurnOnHDMI : End
[/pre]

Last edited by Tramm Hudson; June 27th, 2009 at 01:50 PM. Reason: Adding more details and log file
Tramm Hudson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2009, 02:59 PM   #17
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 170
5D to DP1

Nice looking image. So does this ...

"EDIT: The log file shows the switch to 480 mode, although the frame buffer doesn't seem to change size. This gives me hope."

...mean that you are hopeful that the switch to 480 mode can be avoided and the output
maintain at 1080?
That would be cool. Sure motivates me to want to find an answer to my Glidecam-Wire snaking dilemma!
Tom Daigon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2009, 03:16 PM   #18
Wizard Status
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Daigon View Post
Does this...mean that you are hopeful that the switch to 480 mode can be avoided and the output maintain at 1080?
That is what I'm working on this afternoon. I've added code to call the descriptively named ChangeHDMIOutputSizeToFULLHD() function while recording video. The DP1 flashes as if it has switched to a new mode, but then immediately flickers again and syncs up with 480p.

Looking in the log file, it appears that the movie recording code is continuously checking for a non-480p video setting and calling ChangeHDMIOutputsizeToVGA() to remedy it.

Log file section where my code tries to fix the resolution:
8590: 29142.589 [MAGIC] Attempting to set full HD
8591: 29142.634 [GUI] ChangeHDMIOutputSizeToFULLHD GUI_GetDisplayType(5)
8592: 29142.864 [HDMI] [EDID] dwVideoCode = 5
8593: 29142.929 [HDMI] [EDID] dwHsize = 1920
8594: 29142.960 [HDMI] [EDID] dwVsize = 1080
8595: 29142.985 [HDMI] [EDID] ScaningMode = EDID_INTERLACE(i)
8596: 29143.005 [HDMI] [EDID] VerticalFreq = EDID_FREQ_60Hz
8597: 29143.023 [HDMI] [EDID] AspectRatio = EDID_ASPECT_16x9
8598: 29143.042 [HDMI] [EDID] AudioMode = EDID_AUDIO_LINEAR_PCM
8599: 29143.061 [HDMI] [EDID] ColorMode = EDID_COLOR_444

And a few frames later:
8725: 29520.692 [DISP] SetDisplayType finish Type=3
8726: 29520.766 [GUI] ChangeHDMIOutputSizeToVGA GUI_GetDisplayType(3)
8727: 29520.908 [HDMI] [EDID] dwVideoCode = 2
8728: 29520.946 [HDMI] [EDID] dwHsize = 720
8729: 29520.975 [HDMI] [EDID] dwVsize = 480
8730: 29521.002 [HDMI] [EDID] ScaningMode = EDID_NON_INTERLACE(p)
8731: 29521.025 [HDMI] [EDID] VerticalFreq = EDID_FREQ_60Hz
8732: 29521.047 [HDMI] [EDID] AspectRatio = EDID_ASPECT_4x3
8733: 29521.067 [HDMI] [EDID] AudioMode = EDID_AUDIO_LINEAR_PCM
8734: 29521.087 [HDMI] [EDID] ColorMode = EDID_COLOR_444
Tramm Hudson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2009, 03:39 PM   #19
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 170
As a layman, I wonder if this is indicative of hardware limitations or is just Canons way
of limiting the functions for more political reasons (read... less competition with other products)?
Tom Daigon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2009, 03:40 PM   #20
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Posts: 3,445
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Daigon View Post
Ive bumped into a problem with trying to implement using the HDMI signal with the X-10 system (with the canon and DP1 mounted on it). It necessitates drilling small (3/8") holes near the top and bottom of the vertical pole (see image 2)
These holes do not accomodate the HDMI plug size. BUMMER. I may have to opt for using the compsoite out of the 5D and send that to the smallHD DP1.
Is a mini-HDMI plug small enough? If that is OK then use a cable with mini-HDMI both ends pull it through the holes & then use an adaptor plug to make it full size HDMI again For only $2.97 each when QTY 50+ purchased - HDMI (Type A) Male to Mini-HDMI (Type C) Female Adapter | Mini-HDMI (Type C) <--> HDMI (Type A)
Nigel Barker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2009, 06:39 PM   #21
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nigel Barker View Post
Is a mini-HDMI plug small enough? If that is OK then use a cable with mini-HDMI both ends pull it through the holes & then use an adaptor plug to make it full size HDMI again For only $2.97 each when QTY 50+ purchased - HDMI (Type A) Male to Mini-HDMI (Type C) Female Adapter | Mini-HDMI (Type C) <--> HDMI (Type A)
Nigel that is a great idea. I did think of that and got the statistics on the size of the mini HDMI. The width (the crucial factor for me) is .5 inch. This means the hole should be .6 inch. The diameter of the sled tube (see link several emails above) is only 1 inch.
Im afraid that drilling 2 - .6 inch holes (top and bottom of the tube) would compromise the
weight bearing ability of the object. My backup plan at this point is just to use the AV out sent to the smallHD DP1 monitor. This rig thrives on balance and the cord must run down thru the sled tube for all things to work. I do appreciate your creativity though.
Tom Daigon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2009, 01:06 AM   #22
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Posts: 3,445
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Daigon View Post
Nigel that is a great idea. I did think of that and got the statistics on the size of the mini HDMI. The width (the crucial factor for me) is .5 inch. This means the hole should be .6 inch. The diameter of the sled tube (see link several emails above) is only 1 inch.
Im afraid that drilling 2 - .6 inch holes (top and bottom of the tube) would compromise the
weight bearing ability of the object. My backup plan at this point is just to use the AV out sent to the smallHD DP1 monitor. This rig thrives on balance and the cord must run down thru the sled tube for all things to work. I do appreciate your creativity though.
I suspect that you could shave down the plastic part of the plug to get the desired size. The actual 'works' is just the metal part.
Nigel Barker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2009, 01:54 AM   #23
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nigel Barker View Post
I suspect that you could shave down the plastic part of the plug to get the desired size. The actual 'works' is just the metal part.
Boy, brilliant minds do think alike. I found an old HDMI cable and shaved the sides down to the metal as a test. It could make a difference. The only possible gotcha is I think the plastic might act as an RF shield....but as soon as I get the DP1 I will try out several scenarios before I start drilling.
Tom Daigon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2009, 05:11 PM   #24
Wizard Status
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tramm Hudson View Post
My DP1 arrived this morning and I did a quick power-up test while at the office. The screen looks great and the Quantarray cable works fine. Attempting to load Magic Lantern with the HDMI cable plugged in causes err70, so I'll be hacking on supporting it in the firmware this weekend once I get the config file loading working.
The soon-to-be-released beta version of 0.1.5 supports HDMI output now, although the bitmap overlay still doesn't line up quite right and the zebras are all screwy. One advantage to using the HDMI output is that the headphone adapter on the A/V jack can be left plugged in all the time since Canon will use the HDMI if both are connected. I haven't verified if we are also getting audio on the HDMI cable since the DP1 is video only.

Additionally, I'm hoping that the staggered startup sequence will also fix the problems for folks with cards that didn't load 0.1.4 very well.
Tramm Hudson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2009, 05:38 PM   #25
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 658
Tramm, you Rock
I hope you are starting to feel the $upport from people all over the world hanging on your laborious endeavors
J
John Benton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2009, 08:44 PM   #26
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 170
OK... sounds like some great stuff happening in the near future.
Tom Daigon is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:00 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network