Mpeg Streamclip at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 16th, 2009, 05:50 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Placentia, Calif
Posts: 549
Mpeg Streamclip

I am trying Mpeg Streamclip to convert files to an intermediate for Vegas 8, has anyone used this and what compression is used.
Hugh Mobley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2009, 08:04 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ofallon missouri
Posts: 123
mpg streamclip

I use this program all the time it has various settings to convert to.
The newest version also adds other formats to convert to includeing
WMV if im not mistaken.
Shawn Kessler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2009, 08:12 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
I've never got it to work successfully.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2009, 09:21 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wayne, PA
Posts: 207
I've been using this quite a bit recently, it is a lifesaver. If for some reason you are having trouble it will be well worth your time to sit down and work it through. The batch processing has already saved me hours at the computer hitting buttons.
Phil Bloom just posted a tutorial on this - it is mentioned in another thread here. It explains everything you want to know.
Good luck, hope you get it going.
Denis OKeefe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2009, 11:19 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Denis OKeefe View Post
I've been using this quite a bit recently, it is a lifesaver. If for some reason you are having trouble it will be well worth your time to sit down and work it through. The batch processing has already saved me hours at the computer hitting buttons.
Phil Bloom just posted a tutorial on this - it is mentioned in another thread here. It explains everything you want to know.
Good luck, hope you get it going.
It's not that I don't understand how to use it. It crashes whenever I try to render. At least on my laptop, which is where I want to do my conversions. By the time I get the footage to my editing suite, I want it to be ready to go.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2009, 11:34 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wayne, PA
Posts: 207
I understand, just suggesting that if it is a hardware issue it may well be worth fixing it since the program works so well.
Have you tried converting to some thing other than pro res, maybe dvcpro?
I use it on a macbook pro with 4 gigs of ram, a good size hard drive, and work off and send everything back to a lacie firewire 800 drive.
It is pretty fast, for me much quicker than compressor.
Denis OKeefe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2009, 11:49 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Placentia, Calif
Posts: 549
I have been trying it, can't get it to go beyond waiting with some older sample clips, probably won't work for me, going for replacement of my Cineform NEO Hdv to Neo Scene. never have problems with cineform, or very few
Hugh Mobley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2009, 11:59 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Denis OKeefe View Post
I understand, just suggesting that if it is a hardware issue it may well be worth fixing it since the program works so well.
Have you tried converting to some thing other than pro res, maybe dvcpro?
I use it on a macbook pro with 4 gigs of ram, a good size hard drive, and work off and send everything back to a lacie firewire 800 drive.
It is pretty fast, for me much quicker than compressor.
I'm not on a Mac.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2009, 04:19 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pembrokeshire, Wales
Posts: 734
I used it successfully with Windows XP, it stutters a bit with Vista, but I can't get it to work at all with Vista64. it's a shame, because I don't have a XP any more, and I liked MPEGstreamclip for its simplicity.
__________________
Canon XH A1; Canon XF100; Nikon D800
Annie Haycock is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:20 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network