Realtime editing of native 5D2-MOVs with DIVIDE.FRAME GPUdecoder? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 28th, 2009, 03:28 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 23
Realtime editing of native 5D2-MOVs with DIVIDE.FRAME GPUdecoder?

Hast anyone tried GPUdecoder from DIVIDE.FRAME yet?
DIVIDE FRAME: Software solutions for the broadcast industry

Itīs said to make realtime editing possible in VEGAS+PREMIERE (PC) by letting the GPU do the decoding.
Sounds great, but some sources also report it only works when no effects/filters are applied.
In the latter case, Premiere would switch to internal decoding.

Iīm using Vegas and donīt have a supported Nvidia card yet - so I would appreciate any input about GPUdecoder.
It works only on Nvidia GPUs starting with the 8600 - only two 8800er models are not supported (no VideoDecoding onboard).

Best Regards,
Andreas
Andreas Neubert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2009, 05:14 PM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 23
GPUdecoder quite impressive!

Have tested the free trial version of GPUdecoder today - and must say iīm quite impressed.
I can only speak vor Vegas Pro 9.0a - where the decoding always takes place on the GPU, even when I apply plugins like color correction etc. - the way it should be.

Editing is possible at full resolution and full 30fps with no plugin applied.

When you apply plugins, it depends on the CPU-power of the machine.
I can do fluid grading of the 5D2 files @ half resolution (960x540), on faster machines it might be possible in FullHD.

This is becoming a really interesting solution, as my Vegas itself is not capaple of previewing more than 5-7 frames per second - so I had to use proxys all the time.

With GPU decoder itīs possible to edit directly on the 5D2-MOVs, and grade with fluid preview at least at half resolution, which should be fair enough!
Only when thing like USM come in, it the framerate drops to something around 20fps - but that might be better with faster CPUs like the i7.

At 1/4-resolution, even USM and chroma blur etc. work - but that resolution wonīt give us an impression of whatīs happening.

GPU decoder also improves rendering speed, as decoding is done inside the GPU and CPU power is saved for plugin processing.
Andreas Neubert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2009, 07:48 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camas, WA, USA
Posts: 5,513
Andreas,

What GPU, CPU, OS and RAM size are you using?
__________________
Jon Fairhurst
Jon Fairhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2009, 09:22 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon Fairhurst View Post
Andreas,

What GPU, CPU, OS and RAM size are you using?
Nothing special:
Q6600 @ 2,4 or 3 Ghz (works fine @ 2,4 - renders bit faster @ 3)
WinXP 32bit SP3
4GB Ram
Nvidia 275 GTX

However some cheaper (really cheap indeed!) Nvidia cards are clocked higher:
The best deal is with GeForce 9800 GTX+ or GeForce GTS 250 (738Mhz)

Only GPU clock and PCIe speed matter for GPU decoding...
Andreas Neubert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2009, 10:49 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camas, WA, USA
Posts: 5,513
Aack! Those GPUs have fans! (as I cross myself and lunge for the garlic...)

As a builder of (near)silent PCs, I've always been able to avoid GPU and motherboard fans. Maybe my next build will need water cooling...
__________________
Jon Fairhurst
Jon Fairhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2009, 06:16 AM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 23
You can take any card starting with the nvidia 8600er through 9xxx series to 2xx series and Quadro+ION.
Only two 8800er (GTS and ???) donīt support CUDA/PureVideo.

You can use passive cooled models - but their performance doesnīt guarantee realtime decoding for crossfades.

However: The very silent fan in my card doesnīt speed up like it does in games when the card is decoding... it stays more one the desktop side ...
Andreas Neubert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2009, 11:42 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Canyon Country, CA
Posts: 430
cs4

I tried the demo with Premiere Pro CS4 and it reports errors and won't load. Checking the Divide.Frame forum there seem to still be bugs for Premiere. There may be a problem with the latest NVIDIA driver. I'll check the forum now and then and if it looks like the program stabilizes I'll try it again. Seems like a good idea, I was wondering when someone would have a GPU product that would support the 5DII.
Charles W. Hull is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:02 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network