JuicedLink, Follow Focus and 5D - not possible!? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 11th, 2009, 05:23 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tartu, Estonia
Posts: 579
JuicedLink, Follow Focus and 5D - not possible!?

Now that I've used JuicedLink and 5D a bit I've found out that it is not possible to use a FF device when my 5D is attached to the top of the JL because the top surface wobbles so much.

I mean it's 1mm thick aluminum and all ;) but still if you turn the FF it wobbles (the framing rises or lowers) like hell - JL preamp and 5D (body too short) can not be used with real FF devices.

Any suggestions?
T

Last edited by Toenis Liivamaegi; August 11th, 2009 at 07:14 PM.
Toenis Liivamaegi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2009, 06:26 PM   #2
Wizard Status
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 239
I'm using the Cinevate DSLR rig and their Durus follow focus. The camera is already on a small platform and there isn't enough vertical clearance to the matte box if it were also sitting on the juicedLink (or the battery grip). So instead I've moved the CX231 to the shoulder mount, which also helps shift the CG backwards a bit.
Tramm Hudson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2009, 08:42 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Mount the juiced link under the rails and then mount to tripod.

See how I set it up here.

YouTube - My Rig by Chris Barcellos
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2009, 08:51 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tramm Hudson View Post
I'm using the Cinevate DSLR rig and their Durus follow focus. The camera is already on a small platform and there isn't enough vertical clearance to the matte box if it were also sitting on the juicedLink (or the battery grip). So instead I've moved the CX231 to the shoulder mount, which also helps shift the CG backwards a bit.
How do you accomadate the battery grip which is a must for me? The only rig Ive seen that can do this is th "U Boat Commander".
Tom Daigon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2009, 08:55 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Barcellos View Post
Mount the juiced link under the rails and then mount to tripod.

See how I set it up here.

YouTube - My Rig by Chris Barcellos
How do you suggest accomodating the juiced link and battery grip if you want to use it on the Cinevate portable on-the-shoulder configuration?
Tom Daigon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2009, 11:01 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Daigon View Post
How do you suggest accomodating the juiced link and battery grip if you want to use it on the Cinevate portable on-the-shoulder configuration?
I don't use it, but, I have no doubt with further adjustments it can be done.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 12:32 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Beijing
Posts: 665
Tramm,

Great progress on the hack. How is that Durus FF unit? I've always been curious about it.

Dan
Dan Chung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 07:54 AM   #8
Wizard Status
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Daigon View Post
How do you accomadate the battery grip which is a must for me?
Right now it doesn't fit. The extra height pushes the lens above the height of the matte box, even with the camera platform at the lowest level. The battery grip and CX231 together make the camera body ridiculously tall. Add in my KS-6 and it is over 30 cm from bottom to top.

My plan is to disassemble the battery grip (or perhaps just a cheap battery) to make an external power supply anyway. This will let me locate the heavy batteries on the shoulder mount portion of the rig to adjust the CG further aft.
Tramm Hudson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 08:05 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 170
Thats an interesting idea. I look forward to seeing a sketch or picture of what you have in mind. Video sucks the life out of batteries so quickly that on certain shoots I dont have the luxury to keep swapping out single batteries.
Tom Daigon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 11:01 AM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tramm Hudson View Post
Right now it doesn't fit. The extra height pushes the lens above the height of the matte box, even with the camera platform at the lowest level. The battery grip and CX231 together make the camera body ridiculously tall. Add in my KS-6 and it is over 30 cm from bottom to top.

My plan is to disassemble the battery grip (or perhaps just a cheap battery) to make an external power supply anyway. This will let me locate the heavy batteries on the shoulder mount portion of the rig to adjust the CG further aft.
I have been thinking the same thing with my adapter. Actually, the Canon AC power supply has a "fake battery" on board, that must also have a chip that fools the camera. Its pricey, but the "battery replacement" portion of it may work that way. Adapter is about $ 150.00, but it just may be the thing to use to run power into the camera for a battery pack. It has a cord arrangement that threads through the corresponding hole in the battery compartment on the camera body. It would also be nice to have a switch that clears the chip to eliminate to need to pull the battery inour Magic Lantern testing.

I will post a pic this afternoon to show you what it looks like, but it seems like we only have to match the output of the inverter that is coming out of the standard power supply to feed the fake battery.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 11:21 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tartu, Estonia
Posts: 579
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Barcellos View Post
I have been thinking the same thing with my adapter. Actually, the Canon AC power supply has a "fake battery" on board, that must also have a chip that fools the camera. Its pricey, but the "battery replacement" portion of it may work that way. Adapter is about $ 150.00, but it just may be the thing to use to run power into the camera for a battery pack. It has a cord arrangement that threads through the corresponding hole in the battery compartment on the camera body. It would also be nice to have a switch that clears the chip to eliminate to need to pull the battery inour Magic Lantern testing.
You can order the original power cord with that dummy battery separately for $60 (or as low as $49 for "DR-E6" with free shipping from the eBay)
They wanted to charge me $200 from local dealer back in January confirming that I can not order the cord separately but well, you can actually.

Canon | DR-E6 DC Coupler | 3352B001 | B&H Photo Video so there you go ...

T
Toenis Liivamaegi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 01:42 PM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toenis Liivamaegi View Post
You can order the original power cord with that dummy battery separately for $60 (or as low as $49 for "DR-E6" with free shipping from the eBay)
They wanted to charge me $200 from local dealer back in January confirming that I can not order the cord separately but well, you can actually.

Canon | DR-E6 DC Coupler | 3352B001 | B&H Photo Video so there you go ...

T
yeap, that is it. Only need a power souce. As a matter of fact, I have a 12 volt battery from a monitor that may have that same plug in.... hmmm. If only I new what I was doing with 'tricity
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 02:51 PM   #13
Wizard Status
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toenis Liivamaegi View Post
You can order the original power cord with that dummy battery separately for $60 (or as low as $49 for "DR-E6" with free shipping from the eBay) Canon | DR-E6 DC Coupler | 3352B001 | B&H Photo Video
That connector looks worlds better than hacking up a battery, and it also likely avoids the problems with the "unchipped" batteries.

Chris -- do you have the ACK-E6? Can you measure the voltage that it outputs on the barrel connector? According to one of the ebay listings it wants 8V @ 3A, which isn't too bad for a switching DC-DC regulator from a 12 V supply.
Tramm Hudson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 04:56 PM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tramm Hudson View Post
That connector looks worlds better than hacking up a battery, and it also likely avoids the problems with the "unchipped" batteries.

Chris -- do you have the ACK-E6? Can you measure the voltage that it outputs on the barrel connector? According to one of the ebay listings it wants 8V @ 3A, which isn't too bad for a switching DC-DC regulator from a 12 V supply.
Yes I do have it, and I will check tonigh on the "Output" reading on the transformer, right ?

Don't have a voltage reader but I can get it to someone to check, but wouldn't output on their unit be the answer ? I assume getting right polarity is important, though, right ?
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2009, 06:48 PM   #15
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Adapter specs

hear are adapter specs.
Attached Thumbnails
JuicedLink, Follow Focus and 5D - not possible!?-acadapter.jpg  
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:29 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network