Streamlined workflow question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 7th, 2009, 09:56 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Streamlined workflow question

I'm working on a documentary using 2 5DMkIIs and am getting lots of great footage. And that's the problem. I'd like to do some grading in Color and, from what I can tell, I'm going to get the best quality converting to ProRes before doing that. My idea is to do the edit with the native H.264 files since my computer can handle it but then convert only the clips I use to ProRes and then grade. Is that possible? Otherwise I'll need a server farm for all the converted footage. Sorry if this is a dumb question. I'm new to FCP.

thanks,

Grant
Grant Hamilton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2009, 10:48 AM   #2
Tourist
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grant Hamilton View Post
I'm working on a documentary using 2 5DMkIIs and am getting lots of great footage. And that's the problem. I'd like to do some grading in Color and, from what I can tell, I'm going to get the best quality converting to ProRes before doing that. My idea is to do the edit with the native H.264 files since my computer can handle it but then convert only the clips I use to ProRes and then grade. Is that possible? Otherwise I'll need a server farm for all the converted footage. Sorry if this is a dumb question. I'm new to FCP.

thanks,

Grant
The problem is not your computer not being able to handle H.264, it is FCP not letting you edit in it. I can play 5 1080p clips in Quicktime without a glitch but once I try to play a single clip in FCP it hangs after a few seconds. I guess it will change once they update FCP to use Open CL.

The best workflow is to either convert right from the start to Prores or to do lower resolution proxies in H.264 and use the originals at the end.

Personally, I just convert everything to ProRes. If you have a lot of footage, just do it during the night and it is going to be over. If you are short on time, just keep swapping cards and converting as you go instead of waiting for the card to be full.
Alain Pilon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2009, 01:53 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Thanks Alain,

It's not the time, it's the space. I cut a short trailer using H.264 and it seemed OK. Maybe things would change as I started to do the whole movie. The step I don't know how to do is the low res proxy to the final edit using ProRes of only the clips in my timeline. Is that possible?

I'd like to do this:
Edit>Convert>Grade>Output

Instead of this:
Convert>Edit>Grade>Output

Grant
Grant Hamilton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2009, 03:53 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Porto, Portugal
Posts: 6
Hi, Grant:
I think you need to change the workflow
I just copy the raw H.264 files to a USB external drive (they are so cheap) as a master and convert from there to Prosres LT to a FW800 external drive for editing.
The LT codec is excelent and about the same size of the original H264 files.
When finish editing, just delete the ProRes LT files and keep the masters.
If needed for some reason convert again from the master files.
It is very fast and easy if you use MpegStreamClip.
Pedro
Pedro Lemos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2009, 04:37 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pedro Lemos View Post
Hi, Grant:
I think you need to change the workflow
I just copy the raw H.264 files to a USB external drive (they are so cheap) as a master and convert from there to Prosres LT to a FW800 external drive for editing.
The LT codec is excelent and about the same size of the original H264 files.
When finish editing, just delete the ProRes LT files and keep the masters.
If needed for some reason convert again from the master files.
It is very fast and easy if you use MpegStreamClip.
Pedro
Pedro, What would be the advantage of MPEG Streamclip? Wouldn't he lose the advantage of Prores LT?
Don Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2009, 07:28 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Porto, Portugal
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Miller View Post
Pedro, What would be the advantage of MPEG Streamclip? Wouldn't he lose the advantage of Prores LT?
Hi, Don
I would like to say that my english is very poor (it is my third language), and, some times, i have problems expressing myself and understanding other people.
I believe that's the case :-)
As i understood, MPEG Streamclip is just a app that encode from a video format to another, in case, from H.264 to Prores LT much more faster (half the time, i believe) than Compressor does.
Being the encoding speed the advantage and only issue, i can't see what he could lose... :-)
With MPEG Stream Clip or Compress the file ingested by FCP and so, the timeline codec, will be exactly the same, always with Prores LT, witch is much more lighter and "processor" friendly, than his bigger brothers, .
Could you please forgive me and be more explicit?
For me, this workflow works like a charme.
After editing, i just export one master, 100% from the original, with LT at 25p, other file for QT, also 100%, with H264, other for Vimeo with H.264, 720p, 6Mgb/s , and another for Iphone H264, 480, 1,5Mgb/s, all of them with Compressor.
With the master file i also burn a Bluray (with Toast Titanium) and a DVD (with DVD Studio Pro) when i want to give a copy to someone who doesn't have a BR player.
With the tests i've made, i can't see any noticeble difference in quality image from LT to Prores, Prores HQ, and even Prores4444 in any of the final formats.
Just disk space and encoding time!
Are my eyes getting old? :-)
Pedro Lemos is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:26 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network