Any luck playing 5D2 .MOV files on TV? WDTV? Other media players? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 10th, 2009, 12:44 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 51
Any luck playing 5D2 .MOV files on TV? WDTV? Other media players?

Has anyone had any lucking using a WDTV Media Player to play their 5D Mark II .mov files on their TV? I know that the WDTV was previously playing the video fine but there was no audio. I did a search on the web, but I couldn't find out if that issue was fixed by a new firmware update. If the WDTV doesn't work, has anyone tried other media players? I know that I can transcode the audio, but I would prefer something that can play the RAW .mov files.

I'm tired of doing the whole transcoding, importing, editing, burning DVD thing for my home movies of my kids... Professional projects—no problem.
David Koo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2009, 02:14 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Zürich Switzerland
Posts: 80
Well, as .mov is one of the few containers that WDTV doesn't support, I'm afraid you'd have to transcode to .mp4 or something.

Should be doable in QuickTime without rencoding the video by choosing "passthrough" for video in the encode settings.

I've been wanting to try this myself. If I get around to it I'll post back.
Andree Markefors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2009, 02:20 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 542
I'm nearly certain that you can stream (probably more like progressively download, and it might even be transcoding on the fly, not sure) the original 5D2 .mov files from Tivo Desktop (Pro) to your Tivo via the Home Media Option. Of course, that only works if you have Tivo and the not-free version of Tivo Desktop, but I believe I tried it once and I could even start watching the file before it was completely transferred to the Tivo. I might add that despite how some people might poo-poo it, using Tivo Desktop, it's actually totally freakin' awesome. It's even able to transfer and play DIVX and XVID files!
Bill Binder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2009, 09:21 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Koo View Post
Has anyone had any lucking using a WDTV Media Player to play their 5D Mark II .mov files on their TV? I know that the WDTV was previously playing the video fine but there was no audio. I did a search on the web, but I couldn't find out if that issue was fixed by a new firmware update. If the WDTV doesn't work, has anyone tried other media players? I know that I can transcode the audio, but I would prefer something that can play the RAW .mov files.

I'm tired of doing the whole transcoding, importing, editing, burning DVD thing for my home movies of my kids... Professional projects—no problem.
I have tried a few clips and can confirm that the WDTV Live plays 5D Mark II's footage flawlessly. I stream it over the network from a Mac. Audio works perfectly, too.

Edit: This is straight off the camera - the WDTV plays 5D MK II's native .mov file, no need to remux to MP4.
Keith Paisley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2009, 10:26 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 51
Thanks for the info everybody...

Keith, I will definitely look into the WDTV live!
David Koo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2009, 05:52 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 307
you say you can stream it, but can you play it locally off a USB device? I know the old WDTV you could not, but I heard the new LIVE version supports more audio codecs.
__________________
http://www.higherdefinitionmedia.com
RED One #6135 "Spartacus"
Andrew Waite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2009, 07:24 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 190
what is the difference? It is still playing the file, decoding the same bits.

But yes, to answer the question I have played it straight off the memory card via a card reader and the USB interface. It plays both the audio and video whether the storage is local or network attached.
Keith Paisley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2009, 10:53 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Beijing
Posts: 665
I can confirm this too, I got a WD Live a month back and it plays from memory card in a USB reader flawlessly.

Dan
Dan Chung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2009, 08:38 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 26
THe Popcorn Hour C-200 does not play 5d2 files

Neither locally nor over the lan
Tomaso Perrone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2009, 09:16 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: McHenry, Illinois
Posts: 55
I have a WD Live and it does plays 5d files ok.

It does however frequently lock up and crash. Usually requiring a removal of power to fix it (turning off and on via remote is not good enough). Network connectivity is spotty.

I do not consider the WD Live a polished product yet. Maybe some future firmware upgrade will get it there but it's not there today.
Rick Hill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2009, 07:43 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick Hill View Post
I have a WD Live and it does plays 5d files ok.

It does however frequently lock up and crash. Usually requiring a removal of power to fix it (turning off and on via remote is not good enough). Network connectivity is spotty.

I do not consider the WD Live a polished product yet. Maybe some future firmware upgrade will get it there but it's not there today.
I wonder what the difference is between yours and mine. I have had mine since early November and I've played around with it quite a bit, and I don't recall it ever locking up or crashing. Mine is almost strictly used to connect to network attached shares. I don't use it to view raw 5D MK II footage very often but I do use the youtube player, pandora, and watch my library of DVD and HD-DVDs.

I'm not saying that it's perfect - there are a number of glitches that need to be addressed, and I expect them to be fixed (hopefully they won't brick half the population of WDTV Lives on their next try!), but for the $100 that I paid for it, I think the WDTV Live is a pretty amazing little device. Obviously I would not feel that way if it were treating me to frequent lockups or freezes. Is it locking up on the same type of content all the time?
Keith Paisley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2009, 09:30 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: McHenry, Illinois
Posts: 55
Quote:
Is it locking up on the same type of content all the time?
Hmmmm. It seems pretty random. I'm not really sure what causes it but just about any given viewing session I am guaranteed to have to do a power down once or twice. The screen simply goes black and the unit becomes unresponsive to the remote (the only input available). It's done this on all types of sources (CF card via USB, USB connected Drive, Network Drives, Media Server - all have caused crashes).

It's usable but unpolished. It's not good enough to be a "media player" in the sense that I would always use it to play my media - video, music, etc.

I most likely will upgrade from my 10yo "compatible" CRT rear projection HDTV to a 1080p flat screen. I will then use a standard PC to become my media server since it seems a regular PC is the best media player I have used yet.
Rick Hill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2009, 10:19 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 51
I read somewhere that the WDTV live has a "pause" between playing clips. Is that true? If so, how annoying is it?

Also, Rick, it sounds like you may have a defective unit. Any way to exchange it for a new one?
David Koo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2009, 01:24 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick Hill View Post
Hmmmm. It seems pretty random. I'm not really sure what causes it but just about any given viewing session I am guaranteed to have to do a power down once or twice. The screen simply goes black and the unit becomes unresponsive to the remote (the only input available). It's done this on all types of sources (CF card via USB, USB connected Drive, Network Drives, Media Server - all have caused crashes).

It's usable but unpolished. It's not good enough to be a "media player" in the sense that I would always use it to play my media - video, music, etc.

I most likely will upgrade from my 10yo "compatible" CRT rear projection HDTV to a 1080p flat screen. I will then use a standard PC to become my media server since it seems a regular PC is the best media player I have used yet.
is it well ventilated? Mine sits vertically on a shelf in between my AV receiver and some other gear and I can feel it throwing off some heat, but I guess it has enough airflow to be okay. I think I've seen some people complaining of heat-related lockups, though, so could that be the issue you're seeing?

If not, I would get it replaced under warranty. Anyhow, I still think it's suitable for reviewing 5D MK 2 footage.
Keith Paisley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2009, 03:06 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: McHenry, Illinois
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith Paisley View Post
is it well ventilated? Mine sits vertically on a shelf in between my AV receiver and some other gear and I can feel it throwing off some heat, but I guess it has enough airflow to be okay. I think I've seen some people complaining of heat-related lockups, though, so could that be the issue you're seeing?

If not, I would get it replaced under warranty. Anyhow, I still think it's suitable for reviewing 5D MK 2 footage.
I keep my gear in a media closet so I bet that's it. Thanks for the heads up!
Rick Hill is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:39 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network