Field monitors that work with the 5D2 - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 8th, 2010, 11:47 AM   #16
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harry Simpson View Post
<<switches to 480 lines when recording>>
Either these two monitors will still only show the screen in 480 lines correct? I mean isn't that the make output during recording?
Yes, and that is the issue with any monitor. The camera's output is the culprit. On the Marshall, I did experiment briefly with the composite input from the camera to the monitor's composite in. In that configuration, you do not get the monitor resetting as you shoot. However, when I monitored composite out with my LCD4Video 7" monitor, I alway got feed back noise on the sound track, that doesn't occur with the HDMI usage. I have not test for that with the Marshall. I think with the function buttons on the monitor, and the pixel to pixel setting, I think I prefer to work via the HDMI cable. Hopefully, Tramm Hudson at Magic Lantern will have success with his attempts to get full time HD out of HDMI, after the 5D's new firmware posts.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2010, 11:58 AM   #17
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camas, WA, USA
Posts: 5,513
Thanks Andy.

BTW, the overlay issue is a ML problem, rather than a monitor issue. I believe that a fix is in the works for the next, 24p firmware, version.
__________________
Jon Fairhurst
Jon Fairhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2010, 07:51 PM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Norwegian lost in California
Posts: 881
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Barcellos View Post
I think I prefer to work via the HDMI cable. Hopefully, Tramm Hudson at Magic Lantern will have success with his attempts to get full time HD out of HDMI, after the 5D's new firmware posts.
I wonder if this is actually feasible or if it's just wishful thinking on our part..?

-- peer
__________________
www.NoPEER.com
Peer Landa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2010, 09:25 PM   #19
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camas, WA, USA
Posts: 5,513
Right now, it's clearly wishful thinking. Until Magic Lantern achieves it in one of the test builds, we don't know if it's feasible.

One advantage for HDMI is on playback for review. It would be nice if the monitor did dot-by-dot so we could check for aliasing.
__________________
Jon Fairhurst
Jon Fairhurst is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:06 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network