Please tell me I'm not crazy at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 4th, 2010, 03:28 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,414
Please tell me I'm not crazy

because I'm not sure of it anymore;
My 5Dmkii had a dead pixel on LCD almost right after I bought it, ( about 9 months); as I'm busy all the time decided to wait till downtime (still have a warranty), recently I noticed another dead one, but on the sensor, so i went to Canon Canada service.
never mind I had the worst ever experience with customer service, and after multiple attempts to pick up my camera, (it wasn't ready when they called me to pick it up) my 5D, while recording video, changes aperture automatically - in manual mode. (latest firmware)
Canon Canada tells me it functions as designed.
am I crazy, or do I need to find another place to fix my camera?
thanks in advance
__________________
I love this place!
Buba Kastorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2010, 04:16 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 542
I'll bet good money you're in Auto ISO mode and it's not your aperture changing, it's just your exposure changing b/c of the Auto ISO. Then again, I could be completely off base.
__________________
BayTaper.com | One man's multimedia journey through the San Francisco live jazz and creative music scene.
Bill Binder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2010, 05:16 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bethel, VT
Posts: 824
I'm with Bill on this Buba...check auto ISO.

If you're not doing so already, the best way to insure against surprises like that is to set your camera up exactly the way you want it and save it as a Custom Setting and always set your dial there before you shoot.
Jim Giberti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2010, 06:28 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Binder View Post
I'll bet good money you're in Auto ISO mode
no, I was @ ISO100
__________________
I love this place!
Buba Kastorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2010, 07:24 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,267
Record some footage call them back and ask to talk to a manager and that you want to show them the sample. Squeaky wheel gets the grease. Good Luck
Daniel Epstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2010, 09:12 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 542
Turn off the camera, pull the battery out for a few seconds, put it back in, turn it on, go back to M mode, ensure that you're not in Auto ISO, and try again.
__________________
BayTaper.com | One man's multimedia journey through the San Francisco live jazz and creative music scene.
Bill Binder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2010, 09:14 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,414
I've been "squeaking" for a week,
but probably, that's the next option I have,
thanks.
__________________
I love this place!
Buba Kastorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2010, 09:29 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Binder View Post
Turn off the camera, pull the battery out for a few seconds, put it back in, turn it on, go back to M mode, ensure that you're not in Auto ISO, and try again.
I did that quite a few times, no help, in M mode camera works like in full auto,
plus when I move camera while recording video from darker area to the bright light, LCD "blinks" and flashes, and those are in the video - but Canon Canada Service super tells me that they "consulted with the tech. support" and according to them my camera is 100% functional and I need to pick it up from them.
I know that I'm not crazy, it's just when few canon authorized people look at your face and tell you some BS you start thinking, well maybe I'm wrong?
thanks for all replies,
I wonder if there any other place I can fix my camera, I already lost two weeks
__________________
I love this place!
Buba Kastorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2010, 11:15 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Same thing happened on mine when I got it back. Sounds to me like you didn't go through set up with camera like when you first got it, and camera is not set in movie mode. If it isn't, you will not have real manual.

1. Turn camera on

2/ Select Menu, and navigate to Live View/Movie Function set. (6th screen down) Select it.

3. Select LV Func. Setting

4. Select stills and movies

5. Then select "movie display".

"Simulated Exposure" will not work and will act like auto exposure when shooting footage.

That should do it.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2010, 07:21 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,414
thank you all for the replies, now my camera back and works as it used to, no autoexposure,
but dead pixel appears again on ISO 6400 :)
__________________
I love this place!
Buba Kastorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2010, 01:39 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 50
Thank you for pointing that out Chris! We are on a shoot and I just had the 5D Mark II returned from Canon and was having this issue. Now we're back in business. :cool:
__________________
http://www.CredencePictures.com
Randy Durham is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:41 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network