5D Mk II HD to DVD at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 12th, 2010, 04:58 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 18
5D Mk II HD to DVD

Hi guys.

This may be a foolish question. I need to shoot a video project and I want to shoot it with my brand new 5D Mk II. Since I will be giving my client a standard DVD, I don't know if I should shoot at 30 or 24 fps. If I shoot at 30 fps, I will need to convert to footage to MPEG 2 at 29.97 for DVD. If I shoot at 24 fps, I just need to convert the footage to MPEG 2 at 23.98 fps. How should I shoot the project? And furthermore, how should I convert to DVD? I'm on a Mac, and I will be using FCS II.

Thank you in advance for your comments and suggestions. Cheers.
Fernando Kanano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2010, 06:11 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camas, WA, USA
Posts: 5,513
If you don't have a proven workflow, I'd recommend shooting in 30p (29.97). It will have more of a video look than a film look, but it will have less risk of looking bad. If you want a film look, can do a 24p test, have enough time to shoot a test, put it on DVD, and it looks good, then shoot 24p.
__________________
Jon Fairhurst
Jon Fairhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2010, 08:20 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 85
If you don't know what you're doing, use 30p/29.97. They are basically the same if you are recording the sound with the video.

When I shoot 24 fps I do mine own pulldown instead of letting the DVD player do it.

So if you want to shoot 24 fps, shoot and edit at 24 fps and then drop it on a 29.97 timeline - that should add the pulldown.
John Mastrogiacomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2010, 08:36 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 18
Thanks for your input guys. I think I will shoot at 30fps. I also want to edit everything in HD and output the final edit in HD. Now, how to down-convert the final HD video to DVD? Do I need to worry about pull-down? If I use Compressor, which I will, do I just select MPEG 2 and let it handle the 30 to 29.97 conversion?

Thanks again.
Fernando Kanano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2010, 10:41 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camas, WA, USA
Posts: 5,513
The latest firmware (2.0.4) shoots 29.97 rather than 30.00, so you're good to go.
__________________
Jon Fairhurst
Jon Fairhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2010, 11:41 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 18
Thanks Jon. I'll try it this way. I appreciate all of your comments.

Cheers
Fernando Kanano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2010, 02:56 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lancashire UK
Posts: 496
This is something I struggle with too. I just cant seem to get a good result from FCP to a DVD either using Compressor to create the right files (Best quality 90 mins setting) or outputting a hi res file direct from FCP then dropping it either into iDVD or DVD Studio Pro.

so I'm gathering from the above that frame rate has a lot to do with it. would that be right?

I could really benefit from a detailed workflow from 5D2 to DVD using Final Cut Studio on Mac. If anyone had a great workflow that gives good quality (and the time to post), it would be much appreciated

Thanks!
__________________
Avey
theactionhouse.com
Wayne Avanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2010, 03:53 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poole, Dorset (UK)
Posts: 56
Have you tried any of the presets from Cram CompressorPack?
__________________
my website: http://www.7876.co.uk
on vimeo: http:www.vimeo.com/ollie
Olivier Depaep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2010, 04:11 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lancashire UK
Posts: 496
No never even heard of it…
Where do I track that down Olivier?
__________________
Avey
theactionhouse.com
Wayne Avanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2010, 04:26 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Poole, Dorset (UK)
Posts: 56
here's a link to the site : CRAMCompressor
__________________
my website: http://www.7876.co.uk
on vimeo: http:www.vimeo.com/ollie
Olivier Depaep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2010, 06:32 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lancashire UK
Posts: 496
Thanks Olivier, got it, will have a play with that later today.
__________________
Avey
theactionhouse.com
Wayne Avanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2010, 09:49 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 31
Wayne - let's know how it looks, and anyone else - please share your workflow from FCPro to DVD. (or maybe there's been some previous posts?) Greatly appreciated :)
peter berg
__________________
-------
peter berg
Peter Berg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2010, 11:13 AM   #13
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 18
I second that, Peter. It would be nice if someone can point us to a good HD to DVD guide, or if someone would share their experiences.
The CRAM Compressor seems like a good option, so thanks for pointing it out. However, I feel it's important to know what I'm doing exactly when converting.

Thanks for your input, guys.
Fernando Kanano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2010, 02:32 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lancashire UK
Posts: 496
Yes, I have used the CRAM DVD set-ups today and got mixed results. Better than Apple's presets, but still not acceptable. Hmm…

First problem for me is that they are all NTSC which means making a copy then changing the format to PAL. So not being an expert in these things, I don't actually know if that's messing up their preset and that's why I'm getting ropey results.

On the plus side, I notice a lot of the blocky artifacts are gone, on the downside, everything seems really soft and the slow pans and tracks jerk like crazy.

double hmmm…
__________________
Avey
theactionhouse.com
Wayne Avanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2010, 07:12 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 149
Here's a thread

Comparison of NLE HD to SD downconversion quality

my HD to DVD work-flow is on page 7
Ben Denham is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:41 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network