In camera playback issue at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 12th, 2010, 02:51 PM   #1
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
In camera playback issue

I know I'm gonna feel really stupid when somebody tells me what I did, but I can't figure out what I did.

Suddenly I can't make clips play back in camera. Instead of the full frame playback when I hit the play button, I now get little icons of all the clips, even with sprocket holes down the left side of each clip. Clever. But I then select the one I want to play, hit the set button and nothing will play.

Obviously I have managed to change something but I've been through the menu about 5 times and can't find it. The live view mode is on stills plus movie.

Help.

Thanks.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2010, 03:52 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camas, WA, USA
Posts: 5,513
Try hitting the Info button a few times.
__________________
Jon Fairhurst
Jon Fairhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2010, 04:41 PM   #3
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
That was the first thing I tried. Didn't work.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2010, 04:59 PM   #4
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
Aha. I found it.

On the back of the camera, upper right, the outermost button is the 5X/10X zoom in button. To the left of that is the button with the * symbol on top. If you push that * button, while in playback mode, you end up with the multi-image icon situation. To get out of it, you have to hit the 5X/10X zoom in button a couple of times--while in playback mode.

It's in the manual...but you have to know where to look. I finally got to the playback area and it's a few pages into that. Didn't have the manual with me when I found the problem. Need to see if I can download it to my phone.

As I said, I feel stupid for not finding it earlier. I just assumed it was a menu item I had accidentally changed when I was looking at settings, formatting cards, etc. Life in the multifunction button world....
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2010, 05:15 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Norwegian lost in California
Posts: 881
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Pryor View Post
Aha. I found it. [...] It's in the manual...but you have to know where to look.
That's the problem with manuals, (or should I say; badly written ones) -- it's often quicker and easier to just trial & error than to browse through the manual.

-- peer
__________________
www.NoPEER.com
Peer Landa is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:55 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network