Aperture or Photo Shop for RAW stills? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 26th, 2010, 10:58 AM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,867
Aperture or Photo Shop for RAW stills?

It would be nice to receive some input from shooters using both Aperture and Photoshop for their RAW still files?
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2010, 11:34 AM   #2
Sponsor: Westside AV
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mount Washington Valley, NH, USA
Posts: 1,365
I like Aperture but I have been using it for years.

Don't forget Lightroom from adobe as well:
photo management software | Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 3

I think you can download demos of both programs. They are very similar, it is really a question of what you get used to.

The thing about both these programs are that they really are aimed at the Photographer. They are very good at archiving and sorting. Also at least Aperture is way faster than Photoshop as you are working on proxies just the screen size and then nothing you do is destructive, it is very easy to save many different versions of a photo w/o actually having duplicates, it just stores your settings. It is really easy to view many photos at once and organize them on a virtual light table, creating stacks etc. It is like working with a bunch of transparencies on a light table.

You will still want to use PSD as well for comps etc. But these programs are great for photographers in my mind anyway. They are made for grading, retouching and archiving and also very good for doing presentations.
__________________
Olof Ekbergh olof@WestsideAV.com
Westside A V Studios http://www.WestsideAVstore.com/
Olof Ekbergh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2010, 01:38 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Queenstown, New Zealand
Posts: 117
Aperture is very fast and easy for me. Lets me make the basic adjustments very quickly. It's also great at exporting various versions for clients.

Ben Ruffell
Ben Ruffell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2010, 03:04 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,867
Thanks Olof,

Aperture looks nice and so does Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 3. I already own Adobe Creative Suite 3 Production Premium. So I think I will work with that for now, unless there is a very good reason to switch to Aperture. I will check if Photoshop Lightroom 3 can be added easily to PS?

Edit:
Looks like PS Lightroom 3 is a different program all together. Is this worth it or should I spend the time to work with RAW Canon 5D MKII stills in PS?
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2010, 03:22 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 542
Lightroom rocks, and it also plays nice with Photoshop.
__________________
BayTaper.com | One man's multimedia journey through the San Francisco live jazz and creative music scene.
Bill Binder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2010, 03:25 PM   #6
Sponsor: Westside AV
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mount Washington Valley, NH, USA
Posts: 1,365
Hi Paul,

Like I said above, they really are different programs than PSD.

If you don't do a lot of volume of stills, they may not be worth it. But keeping stuff organized is important.

I also prefer the CC/grading in Aperture, but this is really a personal thing because I am used to it I think.

Aperture works great with PSD as well. It rountrips pretty seamlessly.
__________________
Olof Ekbergh olof@WestsideAV.com
Westside A V Studios http://www.WestsideAVstore.com/
Olof Ekbergh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2010, 03:51 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,867
Thanks Bill, Olof,

There is a special now that has Lightroom 3 and PS 5 upgrade. Aperture is the same price as Lightroom.

Bill, my buddies who shoot stills for a living both use Lightroom and PS and swear by it. But as Olof says it is what you are use too using. They are both new to me so which ever I choose, I will be spending a bit of time on Lynda.com.

Olof I will be doing a lot of stills. Sorry I just missed your call. The sky just lit up at sunset so we went out to shoot a few stills to work with tomorrow.

Wow the new version II EF L 2.8 16-35 is amazing lens on the 5D.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2010, 09:43 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,867
With a few hours of research this morning I am leaning toward Aperture 3. It looks well thought out and easy to learn. Also the ability to make a timeline with my stills for time-lapse seems straight forward, plus loads of other features. I just like Mac based software it seems easier to use. I know Lightroom 3 works on a Mac but I find Adobe software not that easy to use.

Any other thoughts?
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2010, 10:55 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,384
It's all what you get used to.
I use Aperture 3 and PS-cs5 as they have different strengths. For processing Raw, Aperture is really easy to use. I tend to pull out PS when there's detail work to do though.
My buddy uses LR and raves about it too. He also uses PS when serious editing is needed.

For organizing and batch processing large amounts of photos, I don't think you can go wrong with either Aperture or LR. Either way you will want PS though.

As for the Adobe learning curve, i think it's inherent in all their software. I was scared to dig into AE but finally did it and realized that once you get past a few UI things, you realize how powerful the software is and why the complex interfaces are needed. Found the same in AI, and several other parts of the suite I own.

Aperture was a breeze to learn. Can't speak for LR.
__________________
A7RII, C100, 1Dx, 5Dmk3, 70D, Kessler goodies, Adobe, Pro Tools and more!
Robert Turchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2010, 11:03 AM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,867
Thanks Robert the input is appreciated.

I do own PhotoShop 3 and will upgrade to 5.

Makes sense what you are use to is the way to go. I am leaning to Aperture 3.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2010, 11:16 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 98
Hi Paul,

I have both Aperture 3 and Lightroom, but prefer Aperture 3 and now use it exclusively.

To get started the Lynda.com "Aperture 3 Essential Training" by Derrick Story is excellent. Aperture 3 Tutorials | Essential Training


cheers

Morton
Morton Molyneux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2010, 11:26 AM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,867
Thanks Morton,

Appreciate one more vote for Aperture 3, and from some one who uses both.

I went through a few of the videos by Derrick Story this morning and liked what I was seeing. It has paid of for the last few years buying a yearly subscription to Lynda.com, a fantastic tool.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2010, 03:16 PM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,867
Just about to order Aperture and I have read a few reviews that say it is unstable. Most of those are Feb - Sept 2010.
Has the software been updated since then?
Is it now stable?
Can it go on the same machine as my FCS and not cause harm to my editing?
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2010, 12:31 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 98
The latest version is 3.1 posted Oct. 20.

I haven't had any problems with it and have been using it every other day and I use it on the same machine as FCS .
Aperture 3.1

cheers

Morton
Morton Molyneux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2010, 06:57 AM   #15
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,867
Thanks Morton,

I thought there was an update that solved this problem, just wanted to make sure.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:21 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network