Crisis with Audio for a scheduled shoot at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 11th, 2010, 08:34 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 27
Crisis with Audio for a scheduled shoot

Hi everyone,

I have a scheduled film shoot for a short film to be filmed in an apartment in a couple of days and the sound guy has back off at the last moment.

We will be using a Rode NTG-2 shotgun mic with boom and a ZOOM H4N to record the sound

Will some one be able to provide with the settings for the ZOOM H4N in order to record FULL HD AUDIO filmed by a 5D Mark II?

Thanks
Ansab Khan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2010, 08:48 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camas, WA, USA
Posts: 5,513
Most any setting would work. Your DAW should be able to take in whatever you record with the H4n.

I'd recommend 48 kHz. Recording 24-bits doesn't hurt, though I know for a fact that the preamps won't give you more than 16-bits of signal. If you have limited storage, record in 16-bits. Certainly record uncompressed WAV rather than MP3.

Make sure the guy who controls the levels is wearing headphones. Record hot, but not so hot that it risks clipping.
__________________
Jon Fairhurst
Jon Fairhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2010, 09:49 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 27
i will be using only one external input of the boom mic into the H4N. should i record on single track (stereo mode) or dual track (using multiple track recording MTR mode) on the zoom h4h?

thanks
Ansab Khan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2010, 10:27 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 70
By the way Zoom H4n has the new firmware out V1.70

Download Software
Inna Lantsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2010, 03:31 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wayne, PA
Posts: 207
You can record on the zoom and run a stereo mini to stereo mini from the zoom headphone to the canon 5D to record there too. Set your levels manually so you are not too hot. You'll have a solid audio track for syncing later on and if something goes wrong on either recording you have some insurance.
Denis OKeefe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2010, 03:25 PM   #6
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
To pass through the Zoom to the camera you need a cable with a pad. DVCreators.net sells one for $45. You need to load some -12db tone to your Zoom, play it back and calibrate the camera meters so they read what the Zoom is reading. But be careful because if you adjust your headphone gain up or down, you also change the Zoom's output to the camera. And if you use a Y-cable for monitoring, that will cut the output down as well, so you need to do the calibration with the Y cable in place.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2010, 09:26 AM   #7
Tourist
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Woodstock, NY
Posts: 1
There's a better and less expensive cable that was just released. It is a splitter designed for the Zoom H4N which has 25db pad and a headphone jack. Calibrate with the cable and with the headphones plugged in.

Sescom LN2MIC-ZMH4-MON 3.5mm Line to Mic with 25dB Attenuator for Zoom H4N with Headphone Monitoring Jack:

http://www.sescom.com/product.asp?item=LN2MIC-ZMH4-MON
Dennis O'Clair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2010, 10:55 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wayne, PA
Posts: 207
Right you are Bill -

My partner the soundman heard my request to feed the Zoom headphone out to my 5D, laughed up his sleeve, shook his head at my naivety and fed me a padded signal direct from his mixer.
Which by the way worked great.
Denis OKeefe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2010, 11:43 AM   #9
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
I just checked with B&H and although this item is not listed on their site, it is indeed available by special order.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2010, 01:25 PM   #10
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
Good find! Better and cheaper that what I got, and I had to buy the additional Y cable at Radio Shack. This is more compact and eliminates that extra connection. And cheaper. Nice.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:32 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network