Shutter speed not coming down below 30 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 3rd, 2011, 11:12 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: MUMBAI INDIA
Posts: 109
Shutter speed not coming down below 30

I have completed one documentary covering the low lighted caves on 5D and mostely using 85mm f 1.2 L canon lense. I kept the ISO below 1600 and shutter speed around 10 and aputure wide open 1.2 .Got the perfect video.Absolutely clean. But in the last day shoot something happened I dont know.The shutter speed was not comming down to 30 .Searched the manual but no solution. I had to shoot with high ISO like 2000 or more . The picture is grainy. can,t use it .Please help me
Ramji Meena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2011, 12:40 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: MUMBAI INDIA
Posts: 109
Actually during this last shoot I used the canon 70-200 2.8 L USM. I guess the problem started with that.
Ramji Meena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2011, 01:48 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 218
So you're saying that you were shooting video on the 5D2 with a shutter speed of 1/10 of a second? This shouldn't be possible. 1/30 is the slowest shutter speed possible in Live View. Are you sure it wasn't stills that you shot at 1/10?
__________________
Canon 5D Mark II || L-Series Lenses || Steadicam Pilot || Final Cut Studio
www.lovestorymedia.com
Erik Andersen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2011, 01:52 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: MUMBAI INDIA
Posts: 109
I am sure.It was possible.
Ramji Meena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2011, 02:44 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Gatwick, UK
Posts: 185
Ramji,

If you can get your 5D mark II to shoot in Live View for less than 1/30 shutter under any conditions, can you please tell us how you did it because I would love to know this secret for myself!! (Would be helpful if you could reproduce it again and tell us the steps)

Also, for grainy footage, I recommend Neat video, is the best plugin out there for video noise (in my view anyway). If you also play around with the levels in any good editing suite, you should be able to improve it by crushing the blacks, playing with the gamma, etc.
__________________
http://kriskoster.com
Kris Koster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2011, 01:14 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: O.C., CA United States
Posts: 337
If you shoot in Auto it will lower the shutter below 30 (so it says), however it won't appear like you would expect a slower shutter to shoot.. no blurry goodness.. oh well. You might be able to get a bit more low light?? I dont' shoot in auto anyway but I do recall noticing that.
__________________
-M
www.visualmasterpiece.com
Michael Padilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2011, 12:03 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 542
When it shows less than 1/30, it's not actually less than 1/30, it's something more like 1/30 with gain/iso cranked up. It's not possible to shoot with a shutter less than the framerate unless you're duplicating frames, and as far as I know, the canon's don't have that capability. You were likely in auto mode, or thought you were in manual, but weren't in video mode (you might have been in exposure simulation mode), so despite having the camera on M, it was actually shooting in auto. Either way, you were never actually doing it before when you thought you were, it was 'faked' slower speeds using gain that brought up the exposure but didn't actually slow down the shutter.
__________________
BayTaper.com | One man's multimedia journey through the San Francisco live jazz and creative music scene.
Bill Binder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2011, 07:25 AM   #8
Sponsor: Westside AV
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mount Washington Valley, NH, USA
Posts: 1,365
There are some video cameras (like the EXcams) that can shoot 30p (or any other video frame rate) footage in "frame accumulation" mode, as far as I know the 5D does not have this feature.

This makes video with blurred moving objects, but can be very nice shot at night, where there is not much light. And is often preferable to increasing gain (iso).
__________________
Olof Ekbergh olof@WestsideAV.com
Westside A V Studios http://www.WestsideAVstore.com/
Olof Ekbergh is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:14 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network