Audio meters on Monitor possible? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 8th, 2011, 10:08 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 291
Audio meters on Monitor possible?

Does anybody know how to make the audio meters viewable on your Monitor/Screen during recording without Magic Lantern?

My 5D is the newest 2.08 version, I can see the meters when I set the volume but I'd like to be able to watch them during recording.

Is this possible?

Thanks;)
Danny Winn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2011, 08:27 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 291
Re: Audio meters on Monitor possible?

Hmmm?

Guess this isn't possible huh? The instruction manual sure isn't any help...
Danny Winn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2011, 10:20 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Re: Audio meters on Monitor possible?

Danny:

That is what Magic Lantern is about. Not only do you have meters on board during shoot, but you also have more refined levels adjustment, as well as zebras. In a more recent testing version Antony Newman has added false colors and other interesting things that are now available on the version of Magic Lantern for the T2i. Check it out here:

Magic Lantern Firmware Wiki
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2011, 01:59 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 291
Re: Audio meters on Monitor possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Barcellos View Post
Danny:

That is what Magic Lantern is about. Not only do you have meters on board during shoot, but you also have more refined levels adjustment, as well as zebras. In a more recent testing version Antony Newman has added false colors and other interesting things that are now available on the version of Magic Lantern for the T2i. Check it out here:

Magic Lantern Firmware Wiki
Everytime I go to download the Magic Lantern firmware I get scared when I read that big warning disclaimer, my 5d is just a week out of the box and I just don't want to screw it up.

Have you had any problems at all with ML and the 2.08 version of the 5D Chris?

Maybe you can put my mind at ease, thanks Chris.
Danny Winn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2011, 04:17 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Re: Audio meters on Monitor possible?

Danny:

I have been testing Magic Lantern for the Trammel group in development since day one. I used it from the first version that did nothing but add a window menu to prove it could be done.

I am not saying nothing can happen. But when I use it, I live by a simple rule. If something looks goofy, or non responsive, I shut down the camera, and remove battery and chip. I let it sit for a few minutes, then put everything back in, and it restarts just fine.

On about two occasion over the years, on very hot days when I was shooting with it, and had shot for a long time, the camera stopped operating and went dark. I let it cool for about half an hour, an everything started back up.

To me, these additions made the camera workable for my indi film making, and I was willing to take the risk.

There is a new software being developed by Antony J Newman. Current version I am using is posted as AJ 4.7. It has a lot more bells and whistles and some very pretty menus giving it a more polished look. Just today, we were advised that original Magic Lantern code will be left completely out of his next version. He apparently is applying all of his own code. This version may have more risk to it. Trammel's Magic Lantern essentially changes nothing in the cameras operating system. It just loads of your CF card, and runs over the top of your firmware in memory. There is no direct change to the camera on board firmware. I am not sure if AJ Newman may be extending into something a bit more daring, so I will be watching camera reaction carefully.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2011, 07:28 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 291
Re: Audio meters on Monitor possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Barcellos View Post
Danny:

I have been testing Magic Lantern for the Trammel group in development since day one. I used it from the first version that did nothing but add a window menu to prove it could be done.

I am not saying nothing can happen. But when I use it, I live by a simple rule. If something looks goofy, or non responsive, I shut down the camera, and remove battery and chip. I let it sit for a few minutes, then put everything back in, and it restarts just fine.

On about two occasion over the years, on very hot days when I was shooting with it, and had shot for a long time, the camera stopped operating and went dark. I let it cool for about half an hour, an everything started back up.

To me, these additions made the camera workable for my indi film making, and I was willing to take the risk.

There is a new software being developed by Antony J Newman. Current version I am using is posted as AJ 4.7. It has a lot more bells and whistles and some very pretty menus giving it a more polished look. Just today, we were advised that original Magic Lantern code will be left completely out of his next version. He apparently is applying all of his own code. This version may have more risk to it. Trammel's Magic Lantern essentially changes nothing in the cameras operating system. It just loads of your CF card, and runs over the top of your firmware in memory. There is no direct change to the camera on board firmware. I am not sure if AJ Newman may be extending into something a bit more daring, so I will be watching camera reaction carefully.
Very cool Chris,

thanks for all the info, I'll give it a try. The additions that ML makes to the camera are essential in true film making.

Thanks again!
Danny Winn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2011, 08:22 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 291
Re: Audio meters on Monitor possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Barcellos View Post
Danny:

That is what Magic Lantern is about. Not only do you have meters on board during shoot, but you also have more refined levels adjustment, as well as zebras. In a more recent testing version Antony Newman has added false colors and other interesting things that are now available on the version of Magic Lantern for the T2i. Check it out here:

Magic Lantern Firmware Wiki
I was gonna ask were the link was on that page but I found it, thanks!
Danny Winn is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:12 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network