Time Lapse - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 30th, 2011, 11:08 AM   #16
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camas, WA, USA
Posts: 5,513
Re: Time Lapse

I use an Aputure AP-TR3C

Aputure Limited - Digital LCD Timer Remote

As I recall, I bought mine through ebay for about $35. To get it to do brackets, you program the duration of the timer's shutter to be long enough to cover three clicks.
__________________
Jon Fairhurst
Jon Fairhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2011, 01:07 PM   #17
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 1,430
Re: Time Lapse

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sterling Youngman View Post
Warren,

There were no clouds. So I can't imagine that was the problem.

-Sterling
Aha! You're right. Seeing that halo around the sun convinced me the sky was full of thin clouds because if I shot the same thing here, there would be no halo.
Warren Kawamoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2011, 01:20 PM   #18
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camas, WA, USA
Posts: 5,513
Re: Time Lapse

I believe that effect is due to a combination of diffusion and the brightness oversaturating the sensor. The more you expose, the wider the saturation area.
__________________
Jon Fairhurst
Jon Fairhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2011, 02:58 PM   #19
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 62
Re: Time Lapse

Jon,

When you bracket, the file names are sequential, so if you shoot a new still ever 8 seconds, that's 450 stills (per hour) per exposure level, or 1350 stills in total. How do you get them organized so that all the -2 exposures are grouped together and so forth?

Does my question make sense?

-Sterling
__________________
When you get to the end of your rope, you either hang or hang on.
Sterling Youngman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2011, 04:21 PM   #20
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camas, WA, USA
Posts: 5,513
Re: Time Lapse

I wrote a Ruby program that does that for me. It's on a different computer, but I can post a link later...

One of the biggest problems with bracketing is that it's a memory hog. For long runs, shooting JPGs might be necessary.
__________________
Jon Fairhurst
Jon Fairhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2011, 03:42 AM   #21
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, England
Posts: 969
Re: Time Lapse

Again, this flickers because you are using the wrong settings. If you used "M" it wouldn't flicker. In 'AV' you are asking the TTL metering to pick the right exposure time in a scene with changing light levels - hence the flicker. You certainly shouldn't start trying to bracket or use 'AV' until you have mastered 'M' mode - all you are doing is wearing out your shutter.
__________________
Writer-Director-DOP
www.liamhall.net
Liam Hall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2011, 09:54 AM   #22
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camas, WA, USA
Posts: 5,513
Re: Time Lapse

You make a good point, Liam.

First, get perfect timelapses in "M" mode on non-sunset scenes. In fact, start with single photos and really learn to nail the exposure with minimal clipping. (That said, the sun will always clip.)

Also, don't be afraid to use smaller apertures. But note that you will want a pristine sensor and lens to avoid spots and blemishes.

Bracketing is only needed in two cases: 1) sunrise/set, and 2) when you want an HDR effect.

And before shooting timelapse HDR, master single shot HDR.

Liam is right about wearing out the shutter. It's good to make some initial tests to get a feel for timelapse, but the goal is to get 100% "keepers".
__________________
Jon Fairhurst
Jon Fairhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2011, 07:00 PM   #23
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 62
Re: Time Lapse

Folks,

Here's the latest.

I shot it in Manual mode, f22 @ 1/6, ISO 160, with 5 seconds between shots. Also, I shot RAW photos instead of jpegs

It plays back perfectly smooth on my computer. Vimeo tends to stutter sometimes. Once again, I ran out of clouds. It's a Southern California thing!

I put the vignette in.


Cheers,

Sterling
__________________
When you get to the end of your rope, you either hang or hang on.
Sterling Youngman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2011, 07:09 PM   #24
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camas, WA, USA
Posts: 5,513
Re: Time Lapse

Nice! (Though I see the Vimeo stuttering too, and my PC should easily be able to play it.)
__________________
Jon Fairhurst
Jon Fairhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2011, 08:41 PM   #25
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 62
Re: Time Lapse

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon Fairhurst View Post
Nice! (Though I see the Vimeo stuttering too, and my PC should easily be able to play it.)
Just for sh!ts and giggles, you can download it from Vimeo and see if it plays more smoothly.

-Sterling
__________________
When you get to the end of your rope, you either hang or hang on.
Sterling Youngman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2011, 11:00 PM   #26
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camas, WA, USA
Posts: 5,513
Re: Time Lapse

I downloaded it and it was smooth as can be.

I see that it's 29.97 fps (or so I assume - Windows says 29 fps. Duh.) Try re-rendering it at 24 fps or 23.976 fps to see if Vimeo can play it back smoothly. That will make your timelapses 25% longer for the same number of clicks. :)
__________________
Jon Fairhurst
Jon Fairhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2011, 11:14 PM   #27
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 62
Re: Time Lapse

I found this computer controlled slider that is at a reasonable price. I'm tempted, but I'm not sure if this time lapse thing is just going to be a passing phase for me.

Stage Zero Dolly 6-Foot Complete Kit (Back-Order Deposit) [DP6FK-BODEP] - $447.50 : Dynamic Perception LLC, Open-Source TimeLapse Motion Control Systems

Check out some of their example videos.
I found this product because this guy used it on his latest piece. It's very impressive:

MINDRELIC

Location, location, location!!!!

Cheers,

Sterling
__________________
When you get to the end of your rope, you either hang or hang on.
Sterling Youngman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2011, 10:43 AM   #28
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 12
Re: Time Lapse

Here is another option for time lapse.

This was done with a Plotwatcher game camera from Day 6 Outdoors - Maker of the Flat-Out Feeder and PlotWatcher HD Time-Lapse Video . This camera films 720p HD time lapse and only costs 149.00.


YouTube - ‪TNTpromo2011.mp4‬‏
Kenny Hollingsworth is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:11 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network