what is the HDMI out interlaced or progressive? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 6th, 2011, 08:19 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: los angeles, ca
Posts: 76
what is the HDMI out interlaced or progressive?

I can't find any info yet on the HDMI out during standby if it is interlaced or progressive? Anyone know for sure on the 5D?
Also, what is the frame rate? Whatever you set the recording preferences to?

jh

Last edited by John Harvey; July 6th, 2011 at 08:22 PM. Reason: extra
John Harvey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2011, 01:19 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camas, WA, USA
Posts: 5,513
Re: what is the HDMI out interlaced or progressive?

On the 5D2 it's interlaced at 60i, though you can recover 24p and 30p from it. It's only 1080i when you are NOT recording. When recording, it drops to 480 lines.

In general, HDMI is progressive for 1080p24 and 720p60 and interlaced for 1080i50 and 1080i60. That said, the most recent versions of HDMI support 1080p60, but most devices don't support it at this time.
__________________
Jon Fairhurst
Jon Fairhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2011, 10:36 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: los angeles, ca
Posts: 76
Re: what is the HDMI out interlaced or progressive?

thanks for that reply Jon. Good to know what I'll be dealing with going into the shoot.

off the original topic, but since you mentioned it,
What is your technical and artistic impression of the recovered 24p footage from the1080i stream if you have done it. I will be doing allot of green screen capture and putting in BG plates later.

And, what is the best post flow for doing that? It looks like I can have the option of recording uncompressed ProRes 4:2:2 to a BlackMagic Hyper shuttle, (have one on the way) or, ProRes HQ compressed 4:2:2 to a Ninja recorder. will uncompressed have a notable advantage over the HQ compressed files for pulling keys and then dropping to 24p?

I like the Ninja in that I can feed it analogue sound from my mixer and it will embed the audio t thee HDMI stream to disk, the BM apparently won't so the Ninja is the preferred choice for sound.

Your insight is much appreciated. Have followed your posts with Magic Lantern from way back.

thanks, jh
John Harvey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2011, 11:12 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,384
Re: what is the HDMI out interlaced or progressive?

John...please read the plethora of posts about how NONE of the Canon DSLRs has a suitable hdmi out for using an external recorder. BH photo video even started putting a warning note about this on most of the hdmi recorders they sell.

Here's their warning right on the front page of the Hyperdeck and it's the same for the Ninja...

"Note! The HDMI output from DSLR cameras such as the Canon 5D/7D and Panasonic GH2 is intended for monitoring only, not for recording. "

I won't go into the reasons because theres a million posts about this but don't do it. You will be much happier with recording to the camera's internal card. Or get a regular video camera to use with the recorders.

Just trying to save you a lot of headache and money! :)
__________________
A7RII, C100, 1Dx, 5Dmk3, 70D, Kessler goodies, Adobe, Pro Tools and more!
Robert Turchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2011, 11:30 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: los angeles, ca
Posts: 76
Re: what is the HDMI out interlaced or progressive?

thanks for the nudge. in my searches nothing jumped out at me specifically in the posts and the net on this specific Q.

if it is because of the screen info the camera puts out I have that covered, I'll do some more searching.

thanks again Robert.

jh
John Harvey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2011, 12:20 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 795
Re: what is the HDMI out interlaced or progressive?

It's not just the screen info that's the problem. Basically the output mirrors what's on the back of the camera, which means you get a 4x3 image with a 16x9 masked area, centered in a 16x9 output - in some info modes the image is zoomed slightly more than others, but there's no setting that will get you a full 1920x1080 image output that matches what the camera would record. Add in the on screen overlays and there's no real way to get a clean signal at all out of it.
__________________
My latest short documentary: "Four Pauls: Bring the Hat Back!"
Evan Donn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2011, 01:15 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,384
Re: what is the HDMI out interlaced or progressive?

You also mention you want to do heavy greenscreen work which I have tried with my 7D and a friend's 5D...thankfully it was not a client project, just me seeing what it would do.

Problem with the DSLR's is the aliasing and moire which really make keying a chore.

And just so you know where I'm coming from, about 75% of my biz is greenscreen and my studio absolutely rocks with my XF300. The 7D and my friend's 5D are not well suited to the task and that's recording to the internal card.

If you want to keep budget reasonable, I'd recommend purchasing one of the recorders you have mentioned along with a pro-sumer camcorder like the XA10 or HMC40. Then you'd get a clean HDMI signal and could bypass the compression.

Hope this helps!
__________________
A7RII, C100, 1Dx, 5Dmk3, 70D, Kessler goodies, Adobe, Pro Tools and more!
Robert Turchick is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:58 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network