What am I missing? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 18th, 2012, 07:12 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Salida, Colorado
Posts: 555
What am I missing?

Okay, I recently got my 5D MII back from Canon after I sent it in for warranty repair. When they did it, they reset the factory preferences. Last night I decided to use it to film my son's basketball game. I was in full Manual and mode, and, I thought, the camera's exposure was set to my specifications. The image on the screen looked fine, until I hit the record button. When I did, the image shifted and got darker.

I seem to recall it doing this when I first got the camera, but I changed something to make it not do it, and for the life of me I cannot remember what I had turned on or off to stop it.

BTW: Just out of curiosity I switched to Auto mode and it did not shift exposure level like it does in Manual.

Thanks in advance for your suggestions.
Charles Newcomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2012, 10:02 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 1,385
Re: What am I missing?

Could it be the picture setting? Have you tried all the settings?
__________________
Get the Free Comprehensive Guide to Rigging ANY Camera - one guide to rig them all - DSLRs to the Arri Alexa.
Sareesh Sudhakaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2012, 02:35 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winnipeg Canada
Posts: 532
Re: What am I missing?

live view settings>stills+movie>MOVIE DISPLAY (*not 'exposure simulation*)
Brian David Melnyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2012, 12:08 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Salida, Colorado
Posts: 555
Re: What am I missing?

Exposure simulation was the culprit.

I am in your debt. Many thanks.
Charles Newcomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2012, 09:14 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 1,385
Re: What am I missing?

Thanks Brian...didn't even know that existed.
__________________
Get the Free Comprehensive Guide to Rigging ANY Camera - one guide to rig them all - DSLRs to the Arri Alexa.
Sareesh Sudhakaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2012, 06:14 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winnipeg Canada
Posts: 532
Re: What am I missing?

you're welcome!
Brian David Melnyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2012, 05:14 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Salida, Colorado
Posts: 555
Re: What am I missing?

Just an FYI: I got a new MK3 and it was doing the same thing. Drove me nuts trying to find out why it was acting like Auto ISO was on all the time, no matter what mode I was in.

So on the MK3 there's a menu item just for Live View. If you want to engage/disengage Exposure Simulation, there's a separate menu item for that now.

I'm loving this camera... especially its low-light and audio capabilities.
Charles Newcomb is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:22 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network