5D mk3 HDMI output at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 22nd, 2012, 08:50 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 144
5D mk3 HDMI output

Does anyone try the HDMI out? I know there is on screen overlay. I think coming ML can kill it.
What I concern is, does HDMI output fill the whole 1080 screen?
Like mark2 in HDMI output, the picture doesn't fill the whole screen, the aspect ratio is more like a 4:3
Thomas Wong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2012, 11:07 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 1,385
Re: 5D mk3 HDMI output

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas Wong View Post
What I concern is, does HDMI output fill the whole 1080 screen?
Like mark2 in HDMI output, the picture doesn't fill the whole screen, the aspect ratio is more like a 4:3
I am interested in knowing the same, too. Are you saying the 5DIII outputs 4:3 via HDMI?
__________________
Get the Free Comprehensive Guide to Rigging ANY Camera - one guide to rig them all - DSLRs to the Arri Alexa.
Sareesh Sudhakaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2012, 02:47 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 513
Re: 5D mk3 HDMI output

Bad news for you guys I'm afraid.

As you know there is a white box in the frame [magnification area overlay) that cannot be removed. In addition, as far as I can determine, the image only fills the central (approx) 80% of the frame (if you hit the info button which expands the image and removes other overlays). So while the HDMI output is 16:9, it's letterboxed both vertically and horizontally.

It is a step up from the 5DII however. At least the image is detailed and it doesn't go blank for a second when you hit record.
Josh Dahlberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2012, 02:53 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 144
Re: 5D mk3 HDMI output

the white box should be able to remove from Magic Lantern later...
can you also try clear as much as you can from the INFO button? because the image area will enlarge after you clear all info (except to focus box)
I wonder if it will give you a 16:9 ratio and fill the whole screen or not
Thomas Wong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2012, 03:14 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 513
Re: 5D mk3 HDMI output

Thomas that's exactly what my post describes: if you hit the info button, remove most overlays, and enlarge the screen, you get to 80-90% screen fill. It is still letterboxed in both directions.

If you don't do this, you get about 60% screen fill. Lovely Canon aye.

One other note. When you hit record the white box overlay disappears, only for a red record symbol to appear in the top right corner.

So, again, no, it does not appear that you can fill the whole 1080 frame. Love to be corrected on this if someone can find a setting I have missed.
Josh Dahlberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2012, 07:06 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 1,385
Re: 5D mk3 HDMI output

That's just sad. I wonder what the point of having HDMI on the 5DIII is - maybe focus pulling perhaps. Does it output in HD while recording or does it scale down to SD?
__________________
Get the Free Comprehensive Guide to Rigging ANY Camera - one guide to rig them all - DSLRs to the Arri Alexa.
Sareesh Sudhakaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2012, 07:11 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 513
Re: 5D mk3 HDMI output

Well, it's very useful indeed. I can't determine what the exact output specs are but for monitoring (via a small HD monitor) it's sharp and the signal isn't lost when hitting record, so it's much better than the 5DII in both respects. Just no good for external recording devices.
Josh Dahlberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2012, 07:16 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Posts: 3,445
Re: 5D mk3 HDMI output

The point of having HDMI output on the 5D3 is the same as on the 5D2 it's so you can connect the camera to a TV & view the stills or videos you just shot.
Nigel Barker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2012, 09:16 AM   #9
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Re: 5D mk3 HDMI output

I'm afraid Nigel is right... they're continuing to position the Mk. III as primarily a still photo camera, as they have done with all of their D-SLR models.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2012, 09:21 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,414
Re: 5D mk3 HDMI output

does MKIII black out on HDMI when you hit record as MKII?
__________________
I love this place!
Buba Kastorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2012, 11:59 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Burlingame, CA USA
Posts: 285
Re: 5D mk3 HDMI output

IMHO Canon have made it quite clear that they have listened to everybody's input and built the ultimate video camera. It's not the 5D Mark III, though. It's the EOS C300. It's quite clear to me that Canon still consider the 5D Mark III and the 1DX to be primarily still cameras.
__________________
me@facebook: http://facebook.com/stevemallerphotography
Steve Maller is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:32 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network