5D Mark III & E1 Plugin? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 23rd, 2012, 12:30 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 218
5D Mark III & E1 Plugin?

I received my Mark III a couple days ago and.... voila I'm back here at dvinfo! We filmed a wedding Saturday and I used my III in All-I mode. (I also used Technicolor Cinestyle and the results look amazing.)

I edit on FCP 7, and I attempted to convert the footage to ProRes 422 (LT), as I always do with my DSLR footage. I tried using the E1 plugin, but it does not recognize the folder/files from the 5D Mark III. I attempted to edit the cameras.plist file and add the Mark III but that didn't work. (For reference, here are the youtube instructions for this hack:
.)

In the end I used MPEG Streamclip to convert the footage. Meaning that my timecode is gone.

Does anyone know how to modify the E1 plugin for 5D3 footage? Or can someone recommend a different way to ingest to Final Cut 7?
__________________
Canon 5D Mark II || L-Series Lenses || Steadicam Pilot || Final Cut Studio
www.lovestorymedia.com
Erik Andersen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 23rd, 2012, 04:49 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 218
Re: 5D Mark III & E1 Plugin?

Ha! Solved. Silly me.

I just went to the Canon U.S.A. : Consumer & Home Office : EOS 5D Mark III page and lo and behold the E1 plugin has been updated. Works fine with 5D3 material!
__________________
Canon 5D Mark II || L-Series Lenses || Steadicam Pilot || Final Cut Studio
www.lovestorymedia.com
Erik Andersen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2012, 06:08 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Burlingame, CA USA
Posts: 285
Re: 5D Mark III & E1 Plugin?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Erik Andersen View Post
Ha! Solved. Silly me.

I just went to the Canon U.S.A. : Consumer & Home Office : EOS 5D Mark III page and lo and behold the E1 plugin has been updated. Works fine with 5D3 material!
Thank you. Just saved me a lot of hair-pulling. :)
__________________
me@facebook: http://facebook.com/stevemallerphotography
Steve Maller is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:51 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network