Using an iPad as monitor for 5D mark III at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 2nd, 2012, 04:04 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Gatwick, UK
Posts: 185
Using an iPad as monitor for 5D mark III

I have a Kessler crane and one of the annoying things about trying to monitor what's being captured was being tethered to the unit. It unbalances the crane and can get tied up and in the way.

I really like the idea of using my iPad to monitor the signal via WiFi. I've done some research and I know it can be done. Using the Teradek Cube, I could transmit HD video via Wifi. The iPad would work as both a receiver and a monitor. I realise there is about a 1/4 sec delay, but I can deal with that.

I think this is the unit I need:

Teradek Cube-250 1 Channel HDMI Encoder CUBE-250 B&H Photo Video

It will encode the Wifi and I hear the output is very clean and solid if it is set up right.

I have two questions.
The first is, does anyone else know of a cheaper solution than this? The Teradek Cube in question is $1.5K - I don't mind paying this if it will give me the solution I need. But if there are cheaper options... ?!

Secondly, I intend to buy the Sony NEX-FS700 when it's out in a couple of months. That has 3G HD-SDI out - I wonder if this output would negate the need for a Teradek Cube?

Options? Advice anyone? :-)
__________________
http://kriskoster.com
Kris Koster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2012, 05:37 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hollywood, FL
Posts: 301
Re: Using an iPad as monitor for 5D mark III

That is an excellent question. I also have the sony FS-700u on order and would like to use my Xyboard (android tablet) via wifi to monitor camera output. Although I'm not sure how the resolution will work out.

Android Xyboard spec says it's DISPLAY SIZE of 10.1 inch widescreen is 1280 x800, HD 1080p whatever that means.
Douglas Call is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2012, 04:05 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Gatwick, UK
Posts: 185
Re: Using an iPad as monitor for 5D mark III

Well I think there maybe a less expensive solution than the Teradek, but like you, I don't know how the resolution would work out.

My line of thinking is to use a jailbroken iPhone, and turn it into a wireless router / WiFi Hotspot by using PdaNet or similar app:
PdaNet -- Use your iPhone as a Wireless Router for your PC/Mac

The phone is then tethered to the 5D mark III on the crane.

Then use my iPad to connect to the WiFi Hotspot and an app that will receive video over WiFi. Software like this:

DSLR Camera Remote - onOne Software

I'm thinking that would do it, but I'm not sure how fast or capable the system would work out and I can't seem to find anything online that has done this. Fairly specialised request, I know.
__________________
http://kriskoster.com
Kris Koster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2012, 05:59 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hollywood, FL
Posts: 301
Re: Using an iPad as monitor for 5D mark III

Actually I really like the Teracube concept because it looks like I could transmit video live using wifi from my camcorder or DSLR to a big screen when I'm at an event. Some of the devices made specifically for that are around $4895. see link below. So maybe I could do something like that for less with Teracube.
IDX Wave Cam
IDX CW-5HD Cam-Wave HD Video Wireless Transmission System CW-5HD
Douglas Call is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2012, 06:44 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Aberdeen Scotland
Posts: 595
Re: Using an iPad as monitor for 5D mark III

Although not wireless I have my T2i connected to my android tablet via usb (3 meters of cable) and can control focus, aperture and shutter speed. Unfortunately not zoom.

DSLR Controller :: About
Donald McPherson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2012, 07:53 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Posts: 3,445
Re: Using an iPad as monitor for 5D mark III

The obvious solution is to use the Canon WFT-E7B Wireless Transmitter which allows all the camera settings and the scene framed in the viewfinder to be accessed and controlled through a web browser on a smartphone, tablet or laptop. While cheaper than the Teradek solution is not that cheap at $849
Canon WFT-E7A Wireless File Transmitter 5754B001 B&H Photo Video
Nigel Barker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2012, 10:22 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Gatwick, UK
Posts: 185
Re: Using an iPad as monitor for 5D mark III

Nigel, I was looking into that also. I agree it is also a viable option, however it"s a lot of bucks for something that I can -only- use with the Canon DSLR.

The reason I preferred the Teradek solution, whilst quite a bit more, is that it can be used across other cameras with HDMI out.

With the new Retina display iPad 3, could be a great solution for wireless monitor.
__________________
http://kriskoster.com
Kris Koster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2012, 10:45 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hollywood, FL
Posts: 301
Re: Using an iPad as monitor for 5D mark III

I also like the versitility of the Teradeck. I currently have the JVC GY-HMQ10, the Canon EOS 5 MkII and hopefully soon the Sony NEX FS700u.
Douglas Call is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:03 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network