CANON 5D Mark III and 2 monitors at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 11th, 2012, 05:20 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Almelo
Posts: 177
CANON 5D Mark III and 2 monitors

Is it possible to connect two monitors with the CANON 5D Mark III. We have this monitor (S-1071F 7-inch HDSDI&HDMI Waveform LCD monitor) that we attach to the HDMI for the cameraman, but what about attaching a simple television with A/V out digital for directing?

Cheers Niels
__________________
Studio MAD
www.studiomad.nl
Niels Neeskens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2012, 05:34 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Efland NC, USA
Posts: 2,315
Re: CANON 5D Mark III and 2 monitors

Sure. All you need is a HDMI splitter.

This is the one that I use - Mini Self-Powered 1 x 2 HDMI Splitter

I just used it last week to split the video from a 5d mii between my steadicam monitor and the wireless video transmitter.
__________________
http://www.LandYachtMedia.com
Chris Medico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2012, 06:02 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Almelo
Posts: 177
Re: CANON 5D Mark III and 2 monitors

Thanks for that Chris!

Maybe that's the best option! Just thinking maybe using the HDMI to SDI out function, with a SDI monitor. We are filming with 3 camera's (HPX371, CANON 5D Mark III and Sony NEX-700) so with using the SDI out on the Swit you don't have to take into consideration watch camera you are using. Thing is, that SDI monitors are more expensive.
__________________
Studio MAD
www.studiomad.nl
Niels Neeskens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2012, 07:47 AM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 6,781
Re: CANON 5D Mark III and 2 monitors

Chris touches on something that is just on the verge of becoming the "new" way to work--wireless transmission from camera to director's monitor is a much preferred physical link for obvious reasons, and the technology has just literally become affordable and portable enough to make this viable for most users via HDMI. Up until this point I'd recommend the SDI conversion route and all monitors past the camera be SDI as it is a much more flexible, rugged and suitable protocol, but the ability for a director to carry around a lightweight wireless monitor (or the camera have freedom to roam within the reception area) is ideal.
__________________
Charles Papert
www.charlespapert.com
Charles Papert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2012, 09:17 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Efland NC, USA
Posts: 2,315
Re: CANON 5D Mark III and 2 monitors

I know this is a bit OT but hopefully of some value.

I started using the wireless HDMI video link for director's monitors before I got them rigged for the steadicam. I know HDMI isn't a professional standard such as SDI is but with the budgets I'm working with here SDI isn't an option (yet). It actually saves some time and effort since that is one less set of cables to manage. The latency on these setups are VERY low too. Low enough for the AC to pull focus for me on the steadicam. The range of the wireless setup is much further than the practical length of a passive HDMI cable.

You can see the transmitter on the back of the rails in this photo.

http://photos4.meetupstatic.com/phot...128361762.jpeg

We had the receiver mounted to a small frame with a 7" monitor. It is a hacked together mess but it works beautifully. I'm building a set of power cables to run the video link off the sled batteries. The HDMI transmitter and receiver are 5vdc. You can find the set online for less than $200.
__________________
http://www.LandYachtMedia.com
Chris Medico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2012, 04:59 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Almelo
Posts: 177
Re: CANON 5D Mark III and 2 monitors

If I get a simple HDMI screen as second screen and get the HDMI splitter and connect that direct to the camera. Would the signal be strong enough for the Swit and the second screen? And if I want to connect my Panasonic HPX371 with the HDMI splitter with a SDI to HDMI converter in between as well Panasonic only had an SDI out), would that work?
__________________
Studio MAD
www.studiomad.nl
Niels Neeskens is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:07 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network