recorded audio out of sync w/video, even in camera? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 4th, 2012, 06:43 AM   #1
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
recorded audio out of sync w/video, even in camera?

So here's something. I've been working on my first short film using the 5DM2. I captured audio using a TASCAM DR07, pluraleyes to sync with cam mic audio.

To my eyes, on pretty much every clip, all audio is a frame or two out of sync with video. And talent was about 6-8 from cam. At first I thought it was some issue with pluraleyes or 5D2RGB (which I use to make prores files from the H264), but since pluraleyes syncs to the cam audio, is it the cam audio then?

I've had to slide video/audio a few frames to make up for it.

Am I alone in this?

Here has been my general workflow (using FCP 6):

-bring in h264 clips and audio files
-let pluraleyes sync all video/audio
-find good takes, export from FCP to create h264 clips w audio from the recorder.
-open these united h264 clips in 5D2RGB, convert to prores.

I'm sure there are other ways, but this seemed the most logical to me. Otherwise it seems like I'd have to convert all footage to prores, then sync. I didn't want to try to choose the good takes without the "real" audio, or sync everything up manually.

Wondering if there's something in my process that created the problem.
Josh Bass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2012, 09:20 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 156
Re: recorded audio out of sync w/video, even in camera?

What about playing back the original h264 files from the camera with orig audio using quicktime?
Is that audio out of sync too?
John Carroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2012, 01:08 AM   #3
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
Re: recorded audio out of sync w/video, even in camera?

to my eyes/ears, it appears so, yes. 1-2 frames.

I mentioned this to a local sound guy on a shoot today and he said he's heard of this issue, the 5D's OWN AUDIO BEING OUT OF SYNC WITH THE CAMERA. Insane.
Josh Bass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2012, 08:07 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 156
Re: recorded audio out of sync w/video, even in camera?

That is insane!
Sounds like it's time for a trip to the service shop... at least it wasn't operator error!
John Carroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2012, 11:17 AM   #5
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
Re: recorded audio out of sync w/video, even in camera?

Are we saying all 5Ds don't do this?
Josh Bass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2012, 11:58 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 156
Re: recorded audio out of sync w/video, even in camera?

I don't see it on my Mark 3, I don't have a Mark 2 so I can't comment on that...
John Carroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2012, 12:23 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camas, WA, USA
Posts: 5,513
Re: recorded audio out of sync w/video, even in camera?

I have a 5D2 purchased in late 2008 and the sync was spot on when using Vegas as the NLE. Then again, I haven't tested it with the latest firmware...
__________________
Jon Fairhurst
Jon Fairhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2012, 11:43 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Posts: 3,445
Re: recorded audio out of sync w/video, even in camera?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Bass View Post
Are we saying all 5Ds don't do this?
None that I have heard of apart from yours so either there is a problem with your camera or more likely your workflow. I don't see how you could see that it's out of synch playing back in camera unless you were to hook it up to a large screen using HDMI. If the playback is out of synch on your Mac it's more likely that QuickTime is borked. Try playing back with VLC which uses it's own internal CODEC & not QuickTime. Actually I am surprised that FCP6 handles the 5D native files at all as FCP7 isn't very happy with them & is generally laggy & jerky when scrubbing through the timeline.
Nigel Barker is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:38 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network