Limit auto ISO range for video? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 25th, 2012, 09:00 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 334
Limit auto ISO range for video?

On the 5D mk3

I found the manual slightly confusing on this point.

Is there a combination of setting that can be used to give manual control of the iris, leave the shutter speed fixed (or on manual) but have the ISO on auto using only a range between say 100 and 6400?

Thanks

Last edited by Dan Burnap; October 25th, 2012 at 09:05 AM. Reason: forgot something
Dan Burnap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2012, 06:03 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Posts: 3,445
Re: Limit auto ISO range for video?

No but I believe that they may have implemented this is Magic Lantern.
Nigel Barker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2012, 08:04 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 334
Re: Limit auto ISO range for video?

Thanks Nigel
Dan Burnap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2012, 04:57 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 579
Re: Limit auto ISO range for video?

did they?
I asked about this some time ago and was told it wasnt doable.
Ger Griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2012, 05:06 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Posts: 3,445
Re: Limit auto ISO range for video?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nigel Barker View Post
No but I believe that they may have implemented this is Magic Lantern.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ger Griffin View Post
did they?
I asked about this some time ago and was told it wasnt doable.
I have a 5D2/5D3 so am only now finding Magic Lantern useful so am still getting up to speed on features & functionality. I thought that I had seen a reference to this in the documentation of the forum but could well be mistaken & suffering from wishful thinking:-)
Nigel Barker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2012, 01:36 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 579
Re: Limit auto ISO range for video?

Im a regular user of ML and havent come accross it, but thats not to say it hasnt been implemented in a recent release. Would be great if it was. I asked Alex (ML developer) about it before and it wasnt as straightforward to implement as we would like it to be.
Ger Griffin is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:08 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network