Blown out audio with the 5D mk3 e new Rode video mic at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 18th, 2012, 03:28 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 334
Blown out audio with the 5D mk3 e new Rode video mic

At the last wedding reception I did I used my 5D mk3 with the new Rode video mic (the stubby one) to capture the very loud music etc. The 5D was in audio Auto mode and as the music was loud I tripped the switch on the Rode to reduce the input by 20db (I think its that)

The audio was still blown out. Am I being unrealistic to think this setup isnt appropriate in this type of environment?
Dan Burnap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2012, 01:39 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 740
Re: Blown out audio with the 5D mk3 e new Rode video mic

Dan I always use manual audio with the 5D Mark 3 be sure to check the led to make sure you are not in the red. Also for a safe guad record 20sec and playit it back to check the audio.
Brian Rhodes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2012, 05:53 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Posts: 3,445
Re: Blown out audio with the 5D mk3 e new Rode video mic

Any auto-level audio system is likely to be defeated by very loud noise levels. You need a system that includes a limiter to avoid distorted peaks. The 5D3 does not include a limiter. It's generally better to record manually.
Nigel Barker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2012, 09:44 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 173
Re: Blown out audio with the 5D mk3 e new Rode video mic

I believe that the new JuicedLink box records the the mic you have plugged into it at regular volume on the left channel and -10dB on the right just incase you're ever in a scenario where something is getting blown out. Now you'd have a way to fix it in post. Something like this might work for you if you like to record in auto.
__________________
Justin
http://www.carlsonmedia.ca
Justin Carlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2012, 03:46 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 334
Re: Blown out audio with the 5D mk3 e new Rode video mic

Thanks for the replies. I use a Zacuto EVF via the HDMI which can display audio meters but unfortunately the 5mk3 doesnt send the audio via the HDMI (apparently) so have no way of monitoring on the go.
Dan Burnap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2012, 01:23 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Salida, Colorado
Posts: 555
Re: Blown out audio with the 5D mk3 e new Rode video mic

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Burnap View Post
Thanks for the replies. I use a Zacuto EVF via the HDMI which can display audio meters but unfortunately the 5mk3 doesnt send the audio via the HDMI (apparently) so have no way of monitoring on the go.
One of the 5D MKlll's awesome new features is you most certainly can monitor audio through earphones directly from the camera, and levels on the LCD via the info menu.
Charles Newcomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2012, 02:39 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 334
Re: Blown out audio with the 5D mk3 e new Rode video mic

Thanks Charles, when you have an external monitor plugged into the Mk3 the LCD switches off.
Dan Burnap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2012, 07:33 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 156
Re: Blown out audio with the 5D mk3 e new Rode video mic

I think what Charles was pointing out is that even when the HDMI diverts the video from the LCD screen, the audio from the headphone jack is still active... that's how I monitor my audio.
I use a SmallHD monitor (which as you said, defeats the built-in LCD screen on the camera) and monitor audio with headphones via the headphone jack on the camera.

Even with the external monitor, you can hit the "Q" button to see the levels when you need to.

The headphone jack is not active during playback with HDMI plugged in however... only while recording.

Last edited by John Carroll; November 21st, 2012 at 07:34 AM. Reason: one more thought
John Carroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2012, 09:04 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 334
Re: Blown out audio with the 5D mk3 e new Rode video mic

Thanks John, I'll check out the 'Q' button
Dan Burnap is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:37 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network