Magic Lantern & HDMI Output at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 30th, 2012, 02:15 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 2,230
Magic Lantern & HDMI Output

Hello,

I have been checking out Magic Lantern for the MKIII and wanted to ask a question about HDMI output. I thought I had read that ML had found a way to output an HD signal over HDMI?

I do not need to record the signal at this time but it would be great for monitoring on my Small HD DP1x 720p monitor. Right now the signal from the camera has the large black areas around the video.

Is there any way yet to get the video full screen & HD?

Thanks
Tim Polster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2012, 09:25 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 156
Re: Magic Lantern & HDMI Output

Check your firmware for the monitor... I know that on my DP6, they released a new firmware about a year ago that had a special preset for DSLR (both Canon and Nikon) to be able to view the image full screen.
In this mode, some of the OSD is cut off such as histogram, but you do get a nice full-screen image.

Don't know if they did this for your monitor or not... seems like they would have. Not familiar with the DP1 or I would have included a link to the firmware for you.

Good luck!
John Carroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2012, 08:56 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 2,230
Re: Magic Lantern & HDMI Output

Thanks John. So it is monitor issue? I had thought the MKIII was supposed to output a fullscreen image. I should try to hook it up to a television and see it if it shows fullscreen.

Will go to SmallHD's website and have a look.
Tim Polster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2012, 08:34 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 156
Re: Magic Lantern & HDMI Output

Sure thing!
If you plug directly into a HD monitor, it will fit the screen properly... the built in LCD is a different shape (not 16:9) since it displays the HD image as well as OSD data. The odd shape makes it possible to show some of the OSD slightly offscreen so it looks a little less cluttered. Probably not designed that way but more of a happy accident.
John Carroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2012, 09:06 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Estes Park, CO USA
Posts: 426
Re: Magic Lantern & HDMI Output

Press the Info button on the 5D3 while plugged-into and HDMI source and it rotates through the various screen overlay options. One option will remove all of the OSD info and zoom up the image quite a bit.

My DP6 has a function to move the display around x and y, and does a fair amount of zooming, too. Perhaps the DP1 does this, as well.
Brian Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2012, 05:57 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 2,230
Re: Magic Lantern & HDMI Output

Thanks. I will give that a try.
Tim Polster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2012, 08:34 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 156
Re: Magic Lantern & HDMI Output

Brian- Does your DP6 have the DSLR preset? If not you should download the firmware... sure makes it easy!
John Carroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2012, 10:40 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 2,230
Re: Magic Lantern & HDMI Output

Update. Pressing the INFO button enlarged the image, not filling the entire monitor, but a lot better. Thanks for the tip.
Tim Polster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2012, 01:59 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 156
Re: Magic Lantern & HDMI Output

using the DSLR preset (if available) will fill the frame on the horizontal axis completely.
John Carroll is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:59 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network