Gain On Gl2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 12th, 2007, 10:36 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: LEANDER, TEXAS
Posts: 79
Gain On Gl2

i have a gl2 that is 1100 miles from me trying to tell the guy there how to set the gain and other ways to get better picture in low light.

how do you change the gain on a gl2
any other tips for low light

i also have a xl1s and a a1 any tips on these cameras would be great also

Eddie
Eddie Pelfrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2007, 07:25 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,295
First, suggest they download the manual from the canon.dv web site, if they do not have one at hand.

You can set the gain in Manual exposure mode. Instruction are on page 76 & 77 of the manual. Set the camcorder to Manual program mode, press the Exp dial twice to select gain, then use the exp dial to select the gain you want

Note that in general as gain increases, the noise in the image, especially in dark shadow areas, also increases. In auto exposure modes gain is automatically adjusted by the camcorder in accordance with the selected exposure program.

If noise with higher gains becomes excessive, try a slower shutter sped, e.g., 1/30, if the motion artifacts are not excessive..
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2007, 10:04 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Parma, Oh
Posts: 172
A VERY important thing to mention is to turn down the sharpness in the custom preset. This helps grain tremendously. I can shoot at 12 gain and get very little or no grain (noise) with the sharpness down two notches.
Todd Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2007, 10:51 AM   #4
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd Clark View Post
A VERY important thing to mention is to turn down the sharpness in the custom preset.
. .and then activate the PRESET too! - g
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2008, 10:12 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Brossard, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 142
Hi Folks

Can the gain be set in auto mode on the GL2?

My other shooter (we do weddings) always shoots in AUTO (I've tried to explain to him how to shoot in manual but he prefers auto) and you see grain everywhere in the shadow areas (even during daytime shots). Is there a way to lock or adjust the gain while in AUTO mode?

I have the XL1 and I can adjust the gain while I lock down in AUTO mode. On the XL1, I can lock down in AUTO mode and still have the flexiblity to override the shutter and iris.

It's frustrating to see grain even during daytime shots.

Thanks
Norman Woo is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:18 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network