2 Channel Audio at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 31st, 2007, 10:24 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lakeville Minnesota
Posts: 12
2 Channel Audio

I have a shotgun mic and wirelss mic, taken into my beachtech which is then routed into my camera. From my camera controls it appears it is being recorded on two tracks (this is also what I hear in my headphones). Left and Right. When I play it back on the t.v it gets mixed.

If I pull the DV tape onto my computer, will it have two seperate tracks of audio? Do I need to do anything special to make this happen?

Thanks,
Chris
Chris Holste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2007, 01:41 AM   #2
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Holste View Post
I have a shotgun mic and wirelss mic, taken into my beachtech which is then routed into my camera. From my camera controls it appears it is being recorded on two tracks (this is also what I hear in my headphones). Left and Right.
What do you mean it "appears"? Well, is it or isn't it? When I use 2 mics I physically TAP each mic JUST to confirm my routing and cabling and initial levelling - correct levelling happens AFTER I've actually confirmed to myself that all the items are connected. So, what does "appears" mean?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Holste View Post
When I play it back on the t.v it gets mixed.
What do you mean "mixed"? Are you saying that the channels are now swapped over? Left becomes Right? Or are you saying that the audio is having a mix applied to it? If you have channel "swap" then first off check your cabling and confirm you aren't somehow swapping the channels AT the TV. How are you connecting the camera to the TV? - Question to others here: Does the XM2 have the ability to swap channels from the user menu?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Holste View Post
If I pull the DV tape onto my computer, will it have two seperate tracks of audio?
I do. Very simple. Why don't you confirm this? If I was you and had "concerns" I would check this out? Immediately. But that's me.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Holste View Post
Do I need to do anything special to make this happen?
What do you mean "special"? What are you considering here? What I do is plop my dv tape into a DV deck. Capture in Vegas and I have the 2 channels - L and R - laid out correctly. Now if I have swapped the channels somewhere along the line, then Vegas just allows me to "swap" 'em back.

But, having given this some further thought, is it at all possible that wherever you had your Tx mic was it near or influenced BY the alignment of the shotgun. Meaning, was there very little "separation" between the 2 mics? I've had the effect of having the sound from the mouth of a Tx-ed mic person was ALSO being captured by the shotgun. In this scenario I can get some separation issues. But this isn't swapping. I'm just raising this as a possible "other" unfortunate result.

Regards,

Grazie

Last edited by Graham Bernard; September 1st, 2007 at 01:50 AM. Reason: additional information
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2007, 01:51 AM   #3
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
double post - apologies - G
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 2nd, 2007, 07:15 AM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,294
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Holste View Post
If I pull the DV tape onto my computer, will it have two seperate tracks of audio?
A digital capture will provide the two channels of audio as separate channels. How they are recorded to your computer will depend on the capability and setting of your capture software, and it can range from being audio embedded with video in a single file to two separate .WAV files (one for each channel).
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 2nd, 2007, 08:55 AM   #5
Fred Retread
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hartford, CT
Posts: 1,227
Make sure that the Beachtek's mono/stereo switch is set to "stereo," or else the signals will be mixed going into the cam, and you'll get two identical channels. Apparently yours was set correctly, but make sure it's a deliberate check you make.
__________________
"Nothing in the world can take the place of persistence..." - Calvin Coolidge
"My brain is wired to want to know how other things are wired." - Me
David Ennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 2nd, 2007, 10:01 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 2,206
Does the TV really have stereo speakers? Or does it have two speakers that each play the same mono channel? I think it depends on the TV.
Jim Andrada is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:56 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network