XM2 to PsP or MSDraw? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 19th, 2003, 08:30 AM   #1
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,530
XM2 to PsP or MSDraw?

How can I add my darling XM2 as a Canon Camera. No problem with the USB link with the Canon s/w - done that, been there.

No, what I wish to attempt is make the XM2 a digital camera, and for the stills card images to go straight to my graphics packages.

The only Canon cameras listed in WinME setup are 3 types of the Canon Powershot. - Could I use the XM2 as one of these as a "fake" Powershots?

What would then be available, maybe, would be to "view" video footage, pause and then capture that still to the graphics package.

Any takers?

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2003, 08:49 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 358
My experience with 'faking it' has not been successful. Generally, the dirvers are pretty specific.

Your best bet for capturing stills from the card would be to buy a dedicated card reader. Much easier in the long run IMO.

Stills from tape would have to be captured into your edit suite and taken from there.

But this is based on my experience with the PC100/XL1s. The XM2 may play nicely.
Nigel Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2003, 09:54 AM   #3
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
I agree with Nigel, an inexpensive SD card reader is definitely the way to go... takes all the pain out of it.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2003, 10:51 AM   #4
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,530
So obvious!

Thanks

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2003, 11:17 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Koblenz, Germany
Posts: 70
Am I getting something wrong or is it just too easy? If you plug your XM2 to a Windows 2000/XP oder Mac Os 9.x / X computer via USB, the SD card is treated like a HD. You can start Photoshop or whatever you like and simply open the images directly from the SD. No need to tell Windows that it's a camera. Don't know if that's what you're looking for.


Chris
Chris Fangio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2003, 11:53 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 55
Grazie,

Chris Fangio states:

>If you plug your XM2 to a Windows 2000/XP or Mac Os 9.x / X computer via USB, the SD card is treated like a HD. You can start Photoshop or whatever you like and simply open the images directly from the SD.

I use a similar process under Windows ME. I access the SD card as a drive, copy files to a graphics folder and then open the files with Photoshop. The point of this method is to keep a folder of untouched still images that can be archived.

Ken W.
Ken E. Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2003, 11:59 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Koblenz, Germany
Posts: 70
Ken,

I was unsure if Win ME supports direct access to a USB storage device. Good to know. Copying SD files to your HD and working with these files is a good way as the data rate of the SD card is pretty slow.

Chris
Chris Fangio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2003, 12:11 PM   #8
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,530
That's It Boyz!!

Of course! The XM2 came up as my J: drive - got 4 external f/w drives f: >> I: - No problem. No need for a card reader, no need to fiddle about with getting the card out; I'm using the XM2 to capture video anyway so there you go!

I wonder if I can have my XM2 linked up via the firewire AND the USB at the same time? This way video, that way Stills? only a thought.

Thanks guys - Ken & Fangio - and others here,

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2003, 12:17 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Koblenz, Germany
Posts: 70
Re: That's It Boyz!!

<<<-- Originally posted by Graham Bernard : I wonder if I can have my XM2 linked up via the firewire AND the USB at the same time? This way video, that way Stills? only a thought.
Grazie -->>>

Sure. Windows detects the position of the card/tape switch and offers you either a new drive as mentioned above (card) or access to your video tape via your editing or capturing software (tape).
Chris Fangio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2003, 05:35 AM   #10
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,530
Chris - So, so obvious - The switching between "Tape/Card" does it. Haven't tested to failure - YET! Thanks!

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:56 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network