Deleting tapes at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 22nd, 2003, 12:04 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Woods Cross
Posts: 32
Deleting tapes

I'd like to know an easy way of how to delete tapes all the way through, so that I don't confust the material at the end with the new stuff. I haven't found any info in the GL2 manual. Any help would be much appreciated. I use vegas.

Thanx
Vince
Vince Skinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2003, 12:11 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 86
No Problem.... Put the tape in. Turn on the Camera... Leave the lens cap ON... and press record. Let it record all the way through.

This is called Striping/Blackening a tape.

Hope this helps,
Tustin Larson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2003, 12:55 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Koblenz, Germany
Posts: 70
I don't understand why it's recommended to leave the lens cap on as we're talking about digital information. A better idea might be to record PAL or NTSC test images (with your editing software or the cameras built in effect) which can be more useful. As Tustin mentioned it is important that the timecode is rewritten without any pause from beginning to end.

Chris
Chris Fangio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2003, 04:02 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Woods Cross
Posts: 32
I love this site. You guys were quick at answering. I wish these tapes were like a hd, with the quickness and all. Oh well, you all answered my question. I like the sample image idea.

V
Vince Skinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2003, 05:39 AM   #5
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Don't forget to record NO audio... otherwise that might confuse
things as well...
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2003, 03:14 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Taranto Italy
Posts: 14
Vince Skinner

I use another method to delete my tapes.

Disconnect all the cables from the camcorder.(Except the power!)
Switch the XM2/GL2 to "PLAY(VCR)", then push the "REC/PAUSE"
button on the handle and finally the play button.

The camcorder will start recording as from the firewire but it will record nothing except the timecode.

There is no need to worry about lens caps or volume controls.
No video and audio will be recorded AT ALL.

Hope this may help.

Ciao
M. Lauria
Mario Lauria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2003, 11:40 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Woods Cross
Posts: 32
That's a great Idea. I tried it and it works quite well. Thanx
Vince Skinner is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:37 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network