GL2 will Not Play Back On TV in Wide Screen at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 27th, 2008, 06:44 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 99
GL2 will Not Play Back On TV in Wide Screen

GL2 will Not Play Back On Any TV in Wide Screen

I followed instructions on page 95 of the instruction book and the video plays back in 4: 3 ( no black bars on the top & bottom ) The book states that wide screen footage will be played back in wide screen 16:9.

I always shoot in 16: 9 and it uploads fine in Pinicacle Studio Plus Version 9.4.3, it detects that it is 16: 9 video. But if I play it back on my TV directly from the GL 2 it is in 4:3.

I would like to burn directly from my GL 2 to my new RCA DVD burner in wide screen.

Any help, I would be very happy. Tried with the S1 Terminal, Video ID-1 and even tried a DV to DV cable ( DV out to DV in on DVD burner) .
Thanks
Rob Cook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2008, 07:50 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,294
What type TV? is it 16x9?

Does the TV have any set-up options from which to select the way the source information is displayed? On some HD TVs, you have to select "stretch" display mode.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2008, 08:43 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 99
any TV I try, from a 13" Tube type to a 42" HDTV. The signal is 4:3. I dont understand.
Rob Cook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2008, 12:00 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: West Rosemary Beach, Florida
Posts: 199
Rob,
I just went through weeks of experimentation with that very problem.
Here's how I learned to handle that. Of course my situation was with
Premiere Elements and an external 16:9 lens attachment, but I'll bet there might be something here to help.

In any case, just hang in there, someone will be along to help .......

(scroll down for my steps)

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...=112482&page=2
Tom Blizzard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2008, 06:52 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 99
Thanks For the Info

Thanks Tom, I will play around with it,
Rob Cook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2008, 10:18 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 10
Are you hooking the AV cords directly to the TV?

I never use my GL2 as a playback, but I am fairly certain that you have to use the S Video cord to get 16:9.

However, when I shoot in 16:9 and I upload my footage and edit, post produce, etc I always render my footage in 16:9. Rendering incorrectly can stretch a 16:9 clip to 4:3. However, I am certain you are using footage on a DV tape in the camera connected to the TV.
Jack Cook is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:37 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network