Image Download problems... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 1st, 2003, 01:43 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 32
Image Download problems...

Hey. I'm kinda new here...

To let you know, I'm 14, and bought a GL-2 with my own money. So if I say anything stupid, or have any questions, Im just getting used to the camera.

I installed the digital video solution disk, and all that went well. But then I had to install the DVC Storage Driver.

It said the "found new hardware" dialogue will only appear once. Well, I accidentaly clicked out of it.

Now, I have no clue how to install the storage driver. I've tried accessing the hard drive and activating the CD, but all that keeps coming up is the Video Solution Disk.

So then I tried just going to zoombrowser and trying to import a picture (I was desperate at this point) from there. Well, that obviously didn't work...

I need to get some stills to my writer, but I can't until I figure this out.

Help would be great. Thanks!!
Joshua Badour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2003, 07:57 AM   #2
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
This isn't a solution, but an alternate way to get stills into your computer. Simply get yourself an SD card reader, about $20 from your local discount store / computer or photo store. No drivers required (depending on how old your computer is). Hope this helps,
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2003, 08:20 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Koblenz, Germany
Posts: 70
Chris,

I think this is not a advantageous and cheap solution as the GL2 doesn't need a special driver, too. So you'll have no advantage when buying a SD card reader. The GL2s SD card is supported as a mass storage device in Windows ME/2000/XP.

All Joshua's got to do is to go into the device manager (if you don't know how to get there I'll describe it) and remove the "unknown device" (as it should appear in the device manager). Windows will ask for the driver at next reboot and with the GL2 connected and in card position. Then the GL2 will be accessible as a disk drive and you don't even need to use the Canon software to transfer your stills.

Chris
Chris Fangio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2003, 09:26 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 32
I'll search, but I have no clue how to get to the "device manager"

So are you saying that that once I delete the "unknown file" I can install it again?
Joshua Badour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2003, 01:25 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Koblenz, Germany
Posts: 70
Which version of MS Windows are you using? XP?

And yes, if you delete the "unknown device" which is marked with a "?" in the device manager you can install it again.
Chris Fangio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2003, 02:13 PM   #6
High School Student
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canton, Ohio, USA
Posts: 609
If your using XP. The device manager is here:

Start > Settings > Control Panel > System > Hardware > Device Manager.

It's the same on 2000, I think, but a little different on earlyer versions of windows.

I'm 14 too, wish I could afford a GL2, :D.
Alex Knappenberger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2003, 10:10 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 32
I'm not seeing an "unknown device" whjere would it be? All I see it a list of "floppy disk" "mouses" etc.

ugh... This is frustrating, lol...
Joshua Badour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2003, 12:22 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Koblenz, Germany
Posts: 70
Hi Joshua,

you'll have to connect your camera and set it to PLAY (VCR) and CARD position. And you'll have to turn it on ... <lol> Then your Canon should appear in the devicer manager as an unknown device (because you didn't install the driver and your system doesn't know how to handle your cam). The symbold for this device is a yellow questionmark.

Chris
Chris Fangio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2003, 08:33 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 32
Ok...

I found the device manager and all that, but when I got to it, all it said was "Canon DVC" with a "!" mark in yellow over the image.

Joshua Badour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2003, 10:23 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Koblenz, Germany
Posts: 70
Joshua,

this is great ! Just remove this device. Windows will ask for the driver next time you start your computer. Or you can double click on "Canon DVC" and select "driver" -> update driver -> specify location (2nd choice).

Hope this is correct for the english version of Windows as I'm using the german version.

Chris
Chris Fangio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2003, 04:39 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 152
Nevermind...

I was having problems, but it was because I was trying to use the firewire connection to import photos.
__________________
John Lee

Levelse7en@gmail.com
John Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2003, 02:31 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 32
Chris,

I did that, and it said "finding components to install new hardware" or something like that. Anyways, nothing ever loaded.

I checked back in the control panel tab, and there was the "Canon DVC" with a "!" over it again, even after I deleted it once.

Any clue?
Joshua Badour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2003, 04:04 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 152
Josh, are you using the USB cable or the firewire?

You've described exactly the problem I was having. Drove me nuts for about half an hour. Then I hooked in the USB connector instead of the firewire and it finally installed correctly.
__________________
John Lee

Levelse7en@gmail.com
John Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2003, 08:32 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 32
Ya, I am using the supplied USB cable...

Anyone got any other ideas?
Joshua Badour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2003, 09:04 AM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Koblenz, Germany
Posts: 70
Josh,

have you tried to update the driver in the device manager as described earlier? There you can specify the location of your Canon driver.

Chris
Chris Fangio is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:25 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network