external firewire drive at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 15th, 2003, 10:58 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 29
external firewire drive

Hey guys,
Could you all recommend a good external firewire drive for editing. I looked at the Lacie drives, but noticed that they only have 2mb cache. Are these good drives? Thanks,
Josh M.
Josh Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2003, 12:31 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 329
Josh,

I use MAXTOR drives. I have external 120G and a 200G (7200RPM) firewire daisychained (They are also USB 2.0 compatible). They work great and I have had zero problems with them.

Cheers!

Derrick
Derrick Begin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2003, 12:57 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Clearwater, Florida
Posts: 177
Josh,

I have the external ADS Dual Link drive kit which allows you to easily swap hard drives into it (one at a time). I use 4 WD 120GB drives with 8mb cache and 4 40gb wd drives that I swap in and out of the ADS to give me more than a half terrabyte of storage that is easily accessible. Plus it makes backing up projects easy.


The Dual Link drive kit allows firewire or USB2.0 connections to the computer. You could even put a CDRW or DVDRW into it if you wanted to. This hardware plugged into my firewire connection and worked first time on my W2K machine.
__________________
Jim
Jim Quinlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2003, 03:26 PM   #4
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Maxtors Here!

1x60gb; 1x80gb & 2x120gb - All running at 7200. All daisey-ed up. All going through 1 x PCMCOA Maxtor dual firewire port. Gets me through the nite! - Often!!!

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2003, 01:48 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario. Canada
Posts: 21
Slightly off topic but...

I had (perhaps incorrectly) assumed that using external firewire drives while also capturing through firewire from the camera might cause dropped frame issues.

Are you all telling me that an external firewire drive is as good as an internal one when capturing and editing video footage?

Seems logical given transfer speeds and it would be easier to deal with but I'd like to hear first hand...

Cheers;
Eric
Eric Gutknecht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2003, 02:06 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 329
I've had no problems, however, I just read a post on Avid Xpress DV 3.5, the user had a problem. The user was plugging the camera into the firewire port on the drive itself.

I personally plug the camera into the card on the computer system and the firewire drive in it's own sperate port (However, the drives are daisy chained together). Capturing has been no problem.

Cheers!
Derrick Begin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2003, 10:20 AM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 16
I am using a Maxtor 80-GB FW drive and I connect my GL2 or ZR30 to the drive itself, and have never dropped a frame. I only have one Firewire port on my Dell notebook and so far have no reason to get another (through PCMCIA).

Jim
Jim Pruett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2003, 12:38 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 336
I've been using nothing but Seagate Barracudas in the last year or 2. Every Maxtor drive I've ever had started making noise, and then zonked out sooner than later.

I've had zero issues with the Seagate's, and I've been using them in file and application server that are on the go 24X7 also with no issues.
__________________
Dan Holly
Anchorage, Alaska
Dan Holly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2003, 03:04 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 245
I have and use a lacie firewire hard drive and it works great. I am unsure on the total spec sheet for the drive I have but it has worked great so far and never had any problems with it and playback.

Rob:D
Robert Poulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2003, 04:49 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 52
If your willing to buy the 250Gb Lacie model it has 8Mb of cache. I have this one and so far it seems to be working pretty good. I have had it unmounting on me for no reason a few times though in OSX. It hasn't happened enough times for me to track down where the problem lays yet. Has anyone else had this happen?
Benjamin Taft is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:51 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network