GL2 - making timecode backups at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 14th, 2003, 12:24 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 39
GL2 - making timecode backups

Can you record original time code from one mini-DV tape to another?

I'll be using

- a GL2 (primary camera)
- a Canon z70 (backup camera, portable VTR/monitor, making backup copies)

If I can't do it with this combination, is there an alternative, cheap way to do it?

Thanks,

Scot
Scot Stafford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2003, 03:21 PM   #2
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Help - I don't understand this request!

By everything that's Alfred Hitchcock - why? Why? I really don't understand . . . please tell me why? There must be a very good reason . . . . I can't see it just yet.

Timcode gets laid down when I film. Timcode is used by my editing suite to recognise where each frame is .. . . If I want I can "lay" timcode onto a new or used miniDV by setting the camera to record and keeping the lens cap on. I suppose I could then transfer this TC onto another camera's tape - but why would I want to do it? . . . . . . . .Timecode is always new to the tape. It isn't something that needs to be transfered. TC gets transfered when I copy or capture to my edit suite with my captured film. I'm strating to think you need to transfer TC from one camera to another for a reason that helps you work?? Help . . . . I'm really struggling here. I feel I've locked myself into to logic loop and I can't get outta here!!! . . . . . . .

. . . .I'm going to lay down . . . in a darkened room . .. . with a cold compress over my eyes . . . ..

There is something I'm really missing from my last 2 years of struggling to understand DV work . . . .

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2003, 07:06 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 39
timecode

By "timecode backups" I mean, duplicate copies of a miniDV that have the same timecode information on them as the original.

The reason I want to do this is to have an backup for each tape I shoot. I'll edit compressed video "offline" in FCP, then re-capture at high-res later on. It'll be good to have a backup in case the original tape is damaged, but for the EDL to work, the backup tape must have identical timecode to the original.

That make sense?

I'm a newbie.

Your response was very entertaining.
Scot Stafford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2003, 11:53 PM   #4
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Oh!
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 15th, 2003, 01:13 AM   #5
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
Since the GL2 does not provide SMPTE time code this would be problemmatic to accomplish. The source and target tape drives would have to be perfectly synchronized. Ex: starting the target deck's "Record" function before starting the source deck's play function would place them out of synch. You could try capturing the entire source tape, drop it into a sequence, and then use the Print to Video. But I'm not sure that would work, either.
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 15th, 2003, 01:20 AM   #6
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Oh!
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 15th, 2003, 09:48 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 39
"cloning"

Thanks, Ken!

From another board, I heard this referred to as "cloning," i.e., making a copy of both video AND timecode from miniDV to miniDV.

I'm a little disappointed that something so simple (SMTPE has been around for decades, and is included in some very, very simple audio devices) and so necessary (making usable backups of reels) hasn't been made at the prosumer level yet.

Has anyone tried to do this before, with either successful or unsuccessful results?

-S
Scot Stafford is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:57 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network