XM2 + red light at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 1st, 2004, 10:29 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 19
XM2 + red light

I've noticed that when I shoot in a place with lots of red light, my footage somehow becomes 'blocky', like it's losing resolution. Is the red light interfering with the CCD in some way? Is this a general problem? What causes this?
Scott Poolen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2004, 03:17 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
Posts: 469
Hello Scott,

When I was new to my XM2 I also had problems with shooting red. I filmned my daughters toys, and they looked awful on the computer screen!

Then I borrowed some cameras from my friends and found out that they even couldn't focus on the objects where the XM2 had troubles!

When I checked the recorded material on a standard TV, it looked good ( very good ;-) - but on the computer you can see heavy blockiness in the reds. As far as I can tell, this is a problem that almost all miniDV cameras have(more or less).

I have solved it like this:

When shooting for the web/computer: Use Frame mode, notch UP sharpening 2-3 steps, shift the color slider towards green. Then in post, do color correction and blur/median

When shooting for DVD/TV: Do nothing ;-) It looks awful while you edit, but once viewed on the TV screen it will be great looking! ( if you like, notch the sharpening DOWN 1-2 steps )

Good luck with your filming!

// Lazze

ps. Next time you watch telly, watch closely on the hot red spots on the screen, then you'll notice that even their expensive pro cameras generates noise in the reds. ds.
__________________
Sony HDR-CX130,Canon 5DMKII,i7 930@4.0, 12gb memory, 3x SSD + 2x1Tb(stripe), Geforce 480, Dual 24", Win 7 x64
Lars Siden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2004, 03:21 PM   #3
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I have the same "problem" with my XL1S, and see this indeed
only on my computer and not the TV. Weird. I just try to avoid red.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2004, 03:25 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 19
Thanks for you reply Lars! I usually do check my footage on TV first, but I couldn't find the cable anymore :(

Now I know what to do!
Scott Poolen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:20 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network