Chip position at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 20th, 2004, 10:45 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 112
Chip position

Aimed more at the techie set:

Does anyone know how far in the GL2 body the CCD is situated? I'm assuming it's a fixed position (i.e. not part of the zoom mechanics) but I can't find any specs that mention it.

I'm working on a motion-control system for use in animation and I'd ideally like to have it operate around the camera's nodal point. I'd take that to be where it backfocuses, rather than trying to accommodate the three actual light-sensitive surfaces (as I understand the process).

Any input would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!


-j
Jay Silver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2004, 10:53 PM   #2
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
Jay,
Short answer: no, I don't know exactly where it's positioned in the camera. (Yes, it is in a fixed position in the camera, not the lens.)

BUT, last year I recall a lengthy thread somewhere here that concerned exactly the same subject. Someone needed to know the CCD's exact position in order to do an animation. I'm completely in the dark on why this is important (as well as blissfully ignorant on animation) but I'll bet that a Search on "animation" will eventually lead you to that thread. (I do not recall whether the thread concerned the GL2 or an XL1.)

Good luck!
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2004, 11:21 PM   #3
Hawaiian Shirt Mogul
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: northern cailfornia
Posts: 1,261
i thought that in animation/motion control the nodal point changes depending on your closest object to lens and your furthest object in the shot ???

on set - i just see them making adjustment sometimes when shots are changed and when i ask what's taking so long they say they are adjusting NODAL
Don Donatello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2004, 05:08 AM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,291
You might try contact Canon, you will hve to work you way past the phone answering service people to find the real technical people, but you may find someone at Canaon USA who can answer the question.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2004, 06:13 AM   #5
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
A service manual might provide answers for this. Canon should
be able to get you that I'd say.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2004, 08:05 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 112
I haven't been able to find that old thread. I'll try Canon directly. Thanks for the help, guys.

If I find out I'll post it for future reference.


-j
Jay Silver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2004, 08:42 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 581
If you know the "normal" lens of the camera then you know the distance. The normal lens on my film camera is 50mm so the distance is 50mm from the object lens.
Rob Belics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2004, 08:55 AM   #8
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Focal length is the distance, in mm, from the Rear Nodal Plane to the Principal Focal Point, when the lens is focused to infinity. In many lenses the rear nodal plane is determined mathematically, and it is not easy to physically measure the distance.

Look on the top of the camera, near the lens mount for a circle with a line through it. The line should be parallel to the front of the lens. This marking indicates the location of the chip (Principal Focal Point). Canon marks many of their 35mm and digital cameras with this symbol. I'm not sure if the GL1/GL2 has this symbol or not.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2004, 11:31 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 112
It's got the symbol, but it appears right at the end of the lens housing. In full, the info reads:

CANON VIDEO LENS 20x ZOOM 4.2-84mm 1:1.6-2.9 L IS @ 58

@ = funny circle with a line through it.

Nothing useful there, and no parallel line anywhere. I'm guessing that since you can't remove the GL2 lens (unlike with the still cameras) they don't feel it's necessary info.

On the mathematical approach: I'm not so good with wrapping my head around focal lengths just yet - is there a way I might approximate the chip position by setting the camera to min/max zoom, min/max focus and measuring where it focuses in front of the lens?

Thanks again for all the help.


-j
Jay Silver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2004, 12:13 PM   #10
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
No, the symbol would be on the camera body (not the lens). The symbol on the end of the lens (circle with a diagonal line through the circle) is indicating the filter size in mm. In your case the lens uses a 58mm filter.

The symbol your looking for would be just behind the lens, where it attaches to the camera, with a horizontal line parallel to the front of the lens.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2004, 02:51 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 112
Sorry - I didn't explain myself very well. I looked all over the camera and there's no line or symbol.

Canon has already responded to me but unfortunately only to say:

"...the exact position of the camcorder's internal components
is not published information. We regret this inconvenience."


Based on the lens, I can make a pretty good position measurement on two of the three axis. The third I'll just have to make a reasonable guess at (like just slightly forward of the ND button).

Thanks, everybody.


-j
Jay Silver is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:50 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network