GL2 tape/battery problem? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 30th, 2004, 09:00 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 354
GL2 tape/battery problem?

My friend has gotten this weird problem on his GL2. I am afraid to try to recreate it, so maybe somebody else has experienced this... there seems to be a weird glitch with his battery and tape. He uses just regular Panasonic tape and the usual BP945, whenever the tape is IN the camcorder, and he switches battery while its in it, it gets dropouts and blocky glitches when he playbacks and records. Weird....
__________________
"Everyone has a photographic memory. Some just don't have film."
David Ho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2004, 09:06 PM   #2
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Can you be more specific in describing the problem? I'm not understanding when the problem is occurring or when he is changing the battery.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2004, 09:09 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 354
He says..

"The tape itself will record fine after you remove it and go forward a bit. But if it sits in while the batteries are changing, then whatever you shoot from then on w.o removing first, gets this pink pixelated junk and the audio is ruined."
__________________
"Everyone has a photographic memory. Some just don't have film."
David Ho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2004, 09:21 PM   #4
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
When you turn the camera off, or change batteries, the tape will come off the video heads. The tape will be repositioned on the heads when you power up the camera again and place it in record/pause. However, the video heads (and audio heads) will never be in exactly the same location on the tape. This slight mis-positioning of the tape to the heads, will cause a glitch (pixelization, noise, distortion) on the tape during playback.

The way to avoid this is to manually reverse search to the last scene when you power up the camera again. Some people like to black their tapes in an attempt to avoid the glitch. Blacking does not always avoid a glitch and can still cause a problem with timecode.

You can search blacking tapes, and timecode if you do not understand these terms. Both topics have been extensively discussed in the past.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2004, 11:20 PM   #5
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Before recording again, use the handy "rec search minus" button on the GL2 to pick up the previous frames of video before the battery was changed. Problem solved.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2004, 12:28 AM   #6
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Thanks Lads

David, thanks for bringing this to my attention. I can't remember reading what Chris suggests, within the User Manual. Thanks Chris. It makes so much sense. I've often changed batteries mid shoot. And I can't put my hand on my heart and say I've done this "after" switching off the cammie - bad boy!! Of course I'm very certain that I would turn off the cammie . . have I done it everytime ? Not sure I have! . . . hmmm...

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2004, 02:13 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 354
Hmm..so based on your guys advice, would it be best to, if changing batteries or tapes, remove all batteries/tapes to avoid any problems? Like if you're changing battery, remove the tape, if you're changing the tape, remove the battery, vice versa and etc?
__________________
"Everyone has a photographic memory. Some just don't have film."
David Ho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2004, 02:19 AM   #8
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Taking a tape out doesn't solve anything. Follow the advice Chris and I suggest (Chris uses better terminology), use the "rec search minus" button to move the tape into a previously recorded scene and avoid a glitch. If you're unfamiliar with the "rec search minus" button, review it's operation in your owners manual and post back if you have questions.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2004, 07:27 AM   #9
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,294
Is he turn the camcorder OFF before he changes the battery (recommended), or just swapping the battery while in record pause mode?
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2004, 01:23 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Lake Park, Florida
Posts: 202
I agree you should remove the battery AFTER you turn off the power to the cam.....problems might arise otherwise.
__________________
http://www.veoh.com/channels/filmmaker
My clips and films.
Bob Benkosky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2004, 11:27 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 47
I'm not sure if I understand the problem correctly, but it sounds as if David's friend gets glitching from that point onwards. Any time you stop recording and start again without blacking, or even sometimes with blacking, there will be a momentary glitch or dropout. However, this shouldn't continue for the rest of the tape... Seems like something else is at work here.

Does the problem persist for a while, until he ejects and reinserts the tape? Or is it just momentary?
Evan Kubota is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:38 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network