PAUSE record mode? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 7th, 2004, 07:25 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 354
PAUSE record mode/rewinding during VCR stop?

Ok. I guess I didn't read the manual right, but my question now is that is the GL2 programmed to be on the PAUSE record mode all times? Wouldn't this hurt the head ware? I mean.... before I got the GL2, my old Hi8 camera just had STOP & RECORD. Now I also notice that the GL2 has a 5-minute auto-shut off in the PAUSE record mode. Is there anyway to make the GL2 just "stop and record" rather than "record pause, then record?" What is your guys approach to this? I got a GL2 a few weeks ago and now just started messing around with it and noticed the PAUSE record mode and auto-shut off.
__________________
"Everyone has a photographic memory. Some just don't have film."
David Ho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2004, 08:00 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Canberra AUSTRALIA
Posts: 169
In Pause mode you can start recording quicker then if the mechanism is stoped. If you are paused for too long it'll go to sleep or VCR stop mode and therefore preserving the tape and needless wear. If you need to setup your shot for a while then use the custom keys to go to VCR stop mode and that'll save wear and tear but just takes a little bit longer between you shouting: "Rolling" and "Action!"
Andrew Hogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2004, 08:10 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 354
I think pausing = more wear than anything? How do you make it so it just has VCR stop mode and record instead of the pause record + record?
__________________
"Everyone has a photographic memory. Some just don't have film."
David Ho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2004, 10:01 PM   #4
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
You can only set the GL2 to go into full power-down or VCR shutdown. You cannot control the timing of either event.

But, honestly, I would not become anxious about this. I believe there are actually 2 stages to "Rec Pause". In the first seconds the tape remains threaded and in contact with the record drum. In the second the tape is actually unthreaded and relieved. This explains why restarting RECORD after only a few seconds on PAUSE is an immediate action. Conversely, pressing RECORD after a minute or two requires a couple of seconds while the tape is rethreaded.

Bottom line: fuggettaboutit. Just shoot and have fun with the darn thing!
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2004, 12:04 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 354
Here's the thing. I'm new to this whole filmmaking aspect, so basically I have the camera rolling.

1. And when I shoot a scene, and someone messes up, I will just stop the record... Now should I just continue to record allowing continous recording or just press record button again making it stop? Which one would be the better of the two in terms of less head ware and such?

2. When I am in between a scene, I will just press the record button so it pauses, but when I am actually filming a scene, I will tend to wait and talk over with the actors and get things right until it's done....so the pause will be there, but now the PAUSE, if after 5 mins, will just either VCR shutdown or auto power off. And if I decide to actually manually put it on VCR stop (with the custom preset key), the tape rewinds like 2 seconds backwards...

Now I think this means I would have to plan my shoots 2-3+ seconds before AND after each scene or each take, right?
__________________
"Everyone has a photographic memory. Some just don't have film."
David Ho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2004, 12:19 AM   #6
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
David,
Geez, you're greatly over-thinking this whole matter. Just press the red Record button to start and stop recording. Stop between takes. No, you don't have to plan the timing of takes. Just forget about it! Really.
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2004, 01:30 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gwaelod-y-garth, Cardiff, CYMRU/WALES
Posts: 1,215
<<<Now I think this means I would have to plan my shoots 2-3+ seconds before AND after each scene or each take, right?-->>>

Of course you should. Always allow more at beginning and end of shots. You'll be glad of the extra material in editing some day.
The same with pans. Allow about six seconds before and after pan. Then, if you don't want tbe pan later, you've got the two shots either side anyway!

Robin.
Robin Davies-Rollinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2004, 03:52 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 354
I mean... the thing is was when I was shooting, I was ultra confused. Usually, on my old camcorders the mechanism would be STOP and RECORD rather than pause or anything. And I noticed from recent threads that pausing is not good for the tape and the wear of the camera. Now, my GL2 is brand new (got it a few weeks ago) and I'm still figuring out things and trying to see it works. I've using the DVM63MQs for the best in quality and efficiency. It's just that when the tape is at the "VCR Stop" ... the clip tends to rewind or possibly foward itself a few seconds (noticable 2 or 3 seconds) which I then question because then I would really never know if I should just have it on continous recording at all times or not...

I guess it's just that I was use to the old ways of recording, but this pause record works -- I am just confused when I shoot because sometimes I just have to press my preset key to stop it so it won't auto shut-off.... Now would you say for *LONG* periods of time, have it on pause record or just VCR stop, and if so....how should I approach the 2-3 second rewind/foward that the VCR stops actually does?

Also, its neat that the GL2 remembers the timecode of the tape in how many it has been fowarded or rewinded up to a point. This helps tremendously so incase I am done recording and put the tape away, and come back to it, I know if the tape has been re-aligned so possibly causing a one or two second rewind/foward too..... :/
__________________
"Everyone has a photographic memory. Some just don't have film."
David Ho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2004, 04:01 AM   #9
Outer Circle
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hope, BC
Posts: 7,527
Quote:
I noticed from recent threads that pausing is not good for the tape and the wear of the camera.
This is true. That's why cams shut down after 2 minutes or so, and that's why one should learn to operate the cam more quickly (get familar with it), and develop the ability or skill to know when to press pause and when to shut it off. One just learns to live with this shut-down saftey feature. Cams work just like VCRs: if there is no such safety feature, well, could you imagine how busy cam and VCR repair shops would be? :-))
Frank Granovski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2004, 04:18 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 354
When would it best to VCR stop instead of the pause record?

I just am wondering how should I approach the tape with the timecode cause everytime I eject the tape and put back the tape back in for .... the tape will never be in the EXACT same position, so that means I will have maybe (?) a 1 or 2 second either rewinded or fowarded position...right?
__________________
"Everyone has a photographic memory. Some just don't have film."
David Ho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2004, 05:53 AM   #11
Outer Circle
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hope, BC
Posts: 7,527
I don't use the time code, but maybe you need to, I don't know. I've never had problems with turning off the cam and then turning it back on to continue where I left off. I've shot videos like this and have never seen any gaps between segments. Sometimes I even rewind a bit, before shooting the next segment. It's not difficult, nor should it be troublesome.
Frank Granovski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2004, 06:06 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 354
Well, what I did was .... it was PAUSE record on say... 0:00:08 (8 seconds)...

then I click the VCR stop on the preset key, and I believe it rewinded itself to 0:00:06 or 7 seconds... I'm not sure, but when you click stop, you can hear the tape mechanism doing something ...
__________________
"Everyone has a photographic memory. Some just don't have film."
David Ho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2004, 10:36 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 354
I just rechecked and I noticed that whenever I clicked VCR stop, the tape mechanism sound begins and then the timecode counter rewinds one second backwards.... is this normal?
__________________
"Everyone has a photographic memory. Some just don't have film."
David Ho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2004, 07:02 AM   #14
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Yes, it's normal, it's called back spacing.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2004, 07:38 AM   #15
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Try not to sweat these things too much, David. The main thing is that you should shoot with the camera. That's really the best way, to learn by doing. All of the expert advice you'll find on our boards is completely secondary to just going out and using the GL2. If you're doing a carefully scripted project, always allow yourself some extra seconds at the beginning and end of each shot so that you can trim them down to just the right length when you're editing. The act of "editing in the camera" by making the shot length just right while shooting, can be an excellent excersize but I don't think you're quite ready for that. My advice is to follow the leads you've been given here, get away from the computer and go out and have fun with the camcorder. Forget about the how's and why's and just go roll tape and have fun while learning the GL2. Hope this helps,
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:15 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network