New GL2 has territorial pit bull driver? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 14th, 2004, 05:58 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 205
New GL2 has territorial pit bull driver?

My old GL2 works beautifully with my 17" Powerbook and firewire 800 external hard drive. I can plug the cam in with the HD and capture video onto the exterior HD no problemo. When the new GL2 is switched with the old, using the same firewire chord and the same GL2 settings, it will not let the Final cut express software come up. Same thing with iMovie. The system profiler acknowledges both the old GL2 and the exterior firewire 800 HD at the same time but comes up with "not found" when the new cam is plugged in. It cannot find the ext HD or the cam. BUT get this; when I unplug the Exterior HD the system profiler recognizes the new GL2 and Final cut express will let me capture from the new cam. Something in the new cam is saying it does not allow any other HD to be plugged in or it will cause havok. Guess I will have to return the unit for an exchange after my May 22nd wedding. Bummer. The new cam plays back and records fine. Hope this is not with all the newer units...
Bill Hardy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2004, 06:10 PM   #2
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
Actually, there is a familiar ring to your saga, Bill. Have you researched this over at the Apple support site?
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2004, 06:54 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 205
Yah, just got back from there and here are some replies to a guy with the same problem:

Since I connected a 320 GB LaCie BigDisk Extreme via FW 800, my Canon GL2 will not connect properly. The system freezes when I hook up the GL2 and turn it to VCR mode. Have tried everything suggested by LaCie + anything that I can think of - no banana. Everything work just fine when I disconnect the BigDisk and connect the camera to the FW 400 port in the front or in the back.

Any idea where to go next?

Mac G5 dual 2 GHz; Mac OS X (10.3.x); 1.5 GB DDR SDR



William B. Gates
Level 3



Joined: May, 2001
Posts: 908
I have found the problem but not the solution guys. It IS THE CANON GL2. I bought a GL2 about a year ago and it was so compatable with my firewire 800 external HD and my 17" Rev "A" Powerbook that I ordered another GL2. The new GL2 hogs the firewire port. As long as the external HD is plugged in it wont let FCE start up. System profiler detects no firewire inputs at all. My old GL2 and external HD both appear on the system profiler. It may be we are just getting defective cams. The new GL2 records and plays back fine however. I am sending mine back to exchange it after my May 22nd wedding. It is Canon's problem, not Lacie's or Apple's in my opinion. I'd better try my new Panasonic PVDV953 to see if it is OK. If it is I may hold off sending in the new GL2, since either my old GL2 or the 953 may be used with the exterior HD. I mean I had to force quit with the new GL2 plugged in. My 17" would not restart until I unplugged it. Very scary episode.

17" Powerbook; Mac OS X (10.3.x); 1 Gig RAM




William B. Gates
Level 3



Joined: May, 2001
Posts: 908
Boo-yeah!...the Panasonic PVDV953 allows FCE to capture with the external firewire 800 HD plugged in. I think I will save the postage bucks on sending the new GL2 in for an exchange. Canon, shame on you. However, don't feel bad about the GL2 Firewire speed of 100 MB/sec because the PVDV953 gets the same according to system profiler. I suspect this is a standard for all DV cams.
Bill Hardy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2004, 06:58 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 205
Here is the link to that discussion; hope it works:


http://discussions.info.apple.com/webx?128@91.nNwnaaajmOR.2@.6890efc1


You may need to be a member to get there. Others have indeed had the same problem. I am using the name William B. Gates in the last few entries of that thread which was posted here.

That poster's idea about the plug in firewire PC card seems like a good idea. Why not give my Powerbook card slot some use? Anyone know of any compatable brands that look nice?

Ok, looks like MacAlley has a nice one:

http://eshop.macsales.com/Catalog_Item.cfm?ID=3365&Item=MACFHBUS2
Bill Hardy is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:25 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network