Various GL1 / XM1 questions - Page 19 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 1st, 2003, 02:44 PM   #271
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: seattle
Posts: 7
Yes, Hans that's exactly what I meant. Thanks so much for the help.
-Kris
Kris Durkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2003, 11:24 AM   #272
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 44
gain and zebra questions on GL1

I recently bought a used GL1, but I couldn't get the manual. There are two things I'm still wondering about, and I hope someone can clue me in.

First, the camera always defaults back to +12dB video gain when I turn it off. This seems, to put it mildly, insane. Why on earth wouldn't 0dB gain be the default? Is there any way to change this default? I can't find it in the menu.

Second, is the zebra striping set at 100 IRE or 70 IRE?

Thanks for any help.

Stu
Stu Minnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2003, 11:40 AM   #273
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
Hello Stu,

You can download the GL1 manual (in PDF form) from the Canon DV site.

I don't own a GL1 any longer, but I believe the zebra is fixed at 100 IRE.

I don't recall the gain resetting to +12dB unless the camera was switched to manual from a low-light condition in an auto setting (Tv, Av, Auto). Are you, perhaps, turning the camera on with the lens cap on, then switching to manual? Just a thought.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2003, 04:49 PM   #274
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,294
GL1 zebra is fixed at about IRE95 per the specs. You can check your specific camcorder if you have access to a vector scope. other appropriate meter.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2003, 08:55 AM   #275
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 44
Well, I downloaded the manual, and of course it doesn't give the specific IRE or the zebras. Wording suggests it's set at 100, but I think I'll try to track down a WFM to check it out.

As for the video gain, I did some experimentation based on Ken's suggestion and basically discovered he was almost right. It boils down to this: If you open the lens cap before turning the camera on, it sets the gain to 0dB. If you have the cap on when you power the camera, the gain sets to +12dB. Weird thing is, it does this even when you're only using manual mode, no automatic exposure controls at all. I still think this is bad design, but at least I know what's going on now.

Thanks,
Stu
Stu Minnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2003, 01:54 PM   #276
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 86
IMHO experimentation is the best way to learn! Get to know your cam. You will be glad that you did!

Thanx,
Tustin Larson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2003, 02:02 PM   #277
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,294
From the "Performance and Functions" section of the GL1 service manual: "The portion of brightness over 95 IRE is displayed in the form of black & white zebra pattern." There might be some variation among individual units based on factory setup and aging of the analog output.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2003, 07:24 AM   #278
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 1
Disable auto shuttoff on GL1?

Hey Guys...
I'm wondering if there is a way to disable the automatic standby/shuttoff that happens on the GL1. I want to use this camera with iChat AV, but it keeps shutting off on me! Please let me know.
Thanks!
Bob Christenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2003, 07:37 AM   #279
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,294
Do not load tape in the camcorder, then it will not shutdown when in camera mode.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2003, 01:03 PM   #280
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Lake Park, Florida
Posts: 202
You can change it to shut off the tape instead of the power, that's another way of doing it, just in case u like leaving your tapes inside. I have done that.
__________________
http://www.veoh.com/channels/filmmaker
My clips and films.
Bob Benkosky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2003, 10:57 AM   #281
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 125
Re: Disable auto shuttoff on GL1?

If you use the power adaptor instead of the battery it shouldn't power off...

Jack
Jack Robertson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2003, 06:22 PM   #282
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 6
Poor Audio W/ GL1 and Wireless mic

This is a very general question but has anyone experienced a general problem (audio hiss and crackling) when using their GL1 and a wireless mic? A friend of mine called me with this problem and asked me to check it out. Iím going to look at his set up in a few days and wanted to know if there were any people who have had this problem. (sorry for the lack of information) but he's using a Canon GL1 and a Azden dual mic setup.
-pat
Patrick Buchanan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2003, 08:07 PM   #283
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,294
The output of the wireless mic may be too high for the GL1 input at MIC setting, try MIC ATT.

Most economical wireless mics do have a high noise (hiss) level.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2003, 08:29 PM   #284
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Key West
Posts: 247
try a samson

We had a 2 channel azden and found it to be unaceptable due to it's hiss...we've since swithed to 2 samsons with sony mics are use it with an XL1 and DV500 with good results.
Craig Hollenback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2003, 01:32 PM   #285
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: IOWA, USA
Posts: 10
GL1 Maintenance - sending in to Canon.

I am wondering what the average cost of sending a 3 year old GL1 in for a checkup/cleaning/minor repair(battery release broken)?

Ben
Ben Stineman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:50 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network