Problems with memory cards at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 21st, 2004, 09:54 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 94
Problems with memory cards

Maybe someone here can help me out. I bought a 512 MB SD card on friday and even after formatting the card with the camera like the GL2 instructions say to. The camera is still not recognizing the photos. Any suggestions?
Alex T. Hurter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2004, 05:21 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I checked the manual and could not find what the maximum
SD size is it supports.

I do not understand your remark "the camera is still not
recognizing the photos"

Recognizing WHICH photos? What are you doing?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2004, 06:28 AM   #3
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Are you sure that the slide selector switch on the back of the GL2 is set to card recording mode?
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2004, 10:22 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 2,863
Some months ago I tested my XM2 with both a 256MB and a 512MB SD card.
They worked without any problems at all.

(I am using a 128MB SD card now.)

---
Edit:
If I remember correct, my manual has only cards up to the
64MB SD card in the list.
But maybe that was the largest cards available when the manual was printed.

I have also called a Norwegian Canon dealer. The XM2/GL2 should support every size of SD cards available today.

Please give us some more info:
When you say the camcorder does not recognize the pictures, does that means that you can take pictures, but not view them later in VCR mode?
Or do you have problems in both camera mode and VCR mode?
Trond Saetre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2004, 04:18 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 94
<<<-- Originally posted by Rob Lohman : I checked the manual and could not find what the maximum
SD size is it supports.

I do not understand your remark "the camera is still not
recognizing the photos"

Recognizing WHICH photos? What are you doing? -->>>

I take a photo and when I go to review it in the PLAYER(VCR) mode I get a message that says "Unidentifiable Image" and a white screen with a black x is shown in the middle.
Alex T. Hurter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2004, 04:26 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 94
<<<-- Originally posted by Chris Hurd : Are you sure that the slide selector switch on the back of the GL2 is set to card recording mode? -->>>

yes it's on the card mode.
Alex T. Hurter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2004, 04:28 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 94
<<<-- Originally posted by Trond Saetre :
Please give us some more info:
When you say the camcorder does not recognize the pictures, does that means that you can take pictures, but not view them later in VCR mode?
Or do you have problems in both camera mode and VCR mode? -->>>

I can take a photo with the camera, but when I go to review it in the VCR mode it shows a white screen with a black x in the center and the message "Unidentifiable Image" is flashed across it.
Alex T. Hurter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2004, 01:19 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 2,863
Have you tried the (8MB?) SD card that was included with your GL2?
To me this sounds like your card might be the problem.
Trond Saetre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2004, 04:41 AM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Rockport Texas
Posts: 6
I am also having the same problem. When I play the card back in VCR mode. I end up with a series of white boxes with red X's in them, and the same message. "UNIDENTIFIABLE IMAGE" I can insert the same card in my kodak card reader and recover the photo's without any problem.

It plays back the photo's on my 8 mbyte card that came with the camera. I have reformatted both cards to see if that would correct the problem. Thanks for your feedback on this.
__________________
Bob McKelvy
Bob McKelvy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2004, 11:40 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 94
Update on the situation:

After a friend suggested that even though i could not see the photos in the VCR mode they might still be on the card I plugged in the camera to see what would happen. Sure enough the photos were there and I could transfer them to my computer. I wonder if the reason I can't preview the photos on the camera in the VCR mode is because the card is not a Canon product.
Alex T. Hurter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2004, 12:58 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 2,863
The SD card does not need to be a "Canon Product".
(I don't even know if Canon makes SD cards)

The SD card standard is developed by Matsushita Electronic (best known for its Panasonic brand name products), SanDisk and Toshiba.
More info at http://www.sandisk.com/retail/sd.asp

I use a TwinMOS SD card, but I know other people uses other brands too.

If changing to another card doesn't solve the problem, you should take the GL2 back to Canon for service.
(Might be problems with the GL2's card reader)
Trond Saetre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2004, 01:04 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 94
the only reason that I thought it might be an issue with the brand of the card is because the 8MB card that came with the camera can be previewed in the VCR mode and it's a card made by Canon. Thanks for the info.
Alex T. Hurter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2004, 03:17 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Stockholm (Sweden)
Posts: 30
I had problems viewing photos that were taken with another digital camera trough my XM2. I think I got that same error message.

These were in a much higher resolution than the XM2 supports so I wasn´t suprised.
Viktor Carlquist is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:25 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network