Gl2 vs hd - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 6th, 2009, 08:19 PM   #16
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wisconsin Rapids WI
Posts: 9
A little FYI on the HV30 cell phone trick.

BETTER GET A MINI SD CARD FAST. THEY ARE BECOMING OBSOLETE. Could not get one at STAPLES, WALMART, OR EVEN BEST BUY.
Dan Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2009, 08:27 PM   #17
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 2,109
Don't worry about that. You can get MicroSD card with SD and MiniSD adapter included. They are everywhere in ebay.
__________________
LA Color Pros Blog
RODE Authorized Reseller . Comer LED Camera Lights . TakyBox HTML5 Menu Generator
Taky Cheung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 30th, 2009, 09:06 PM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Rochester,NY USA
Posts: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taky Cheung View Post
I have done weddings before with GL2 and HV30. Then I compared them side by side. HV30 looks better than GL2 when I down convert HV30 footage to SD. You can take a look here

Standard Definition vs High Definition Acquisition | L.A. Color Blog

and

HV30 vs GL2 - Canon HV20, HV30 & HV40 User Forum

Taky,

What software you used to downconverted the HD footage? I used Vegas Pro 9 to rendered Mpeg2 for DVD but I am not very happy with the quality. It just not sharp like a good movie DVD.
Bruce Phung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2009, 01:05 AM   #19
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 2,109
I use Adobe Premiere CS4 for editing. Premiere licensed the Main Concept mpeg engine to export to MPEG-2 is very disappointing. So now I will export to a Matrox HD AVI. then use Procoder to do the encoding.
__________________
LA Color Pros Blog
RODE Authorized Reseller . Comer LED Camera Lights . TakyBox HTML5 Menu Generator
Taky Cheung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2010, 08:03 AM   #20
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Madison WI
Posts: 340
I have both the GL2 and the Canon Vixia HV30. As others have said the HD quality from the HV30 is awesome, BUT in low light the HV 30 doesnt do that well in my opinion.

I am facing a similer dilemma, Do i sell my almost 2 year old GL2 and upgrade to another Prosumer HD camera...ie the Canon XH A1 or do i continue as i am? A majority of the work i do is for the web and cant be viewed in HD anyway. Often times on a multicam track at a bitrate of 3mps only pros can tell the difference.

Then there is the capture issues... Do u want tape, HD, SD card, etc? Recently my captured Video Hard Drive died, but no fear I have a clone back up on another hard drive in the puter..(I think this is called redundant) so I pulled the good hard drive out of my computer and guess what... it slipped out of my hands onto the concrete floor! It was ruined... I was sick at this, but i still had my tapes to go back to and recapture.

I know its enough to drive ya crazy! I would like to buy a third camera, and am leaning towards another HV30 of perhaps i will try an SF10..

But I will always have my GL2 as my A camera until I replace it with another prosumer camera..
__________________
Vegas 8.0c (Build 260)-(Upgraded to Sony Vegas 10 pro)Canon GL2, Canon HV30, HF200, HF20-Sony UWP Wirelesss Mic Kit, Intel Core 2 CPU-6600@2.40GHz-3.00GB Ram
David Ruhland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2010, 02:19 PM   #21
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 2,109
I sold both of my GL2 in 2007 and start taping in HD. There is quite a bit of learning curve and change in workflow. I'm glad I did that 3 years ago. Now I'm all ready to go. You never know when you will have a client ask for HD / BluRay. If you start learning at that point, it might be too late.

Now I'm using XH-A1s as main cam. Another XH-A1 as b-roll. HV30 as backup and mount on steadicam. For about 2 years, I use HV30 as b-roll cam. Need to color match the output in post from XH-A1 and HV30. Color matching XH-A1 and HV30 | L.A. Color Blog

I am with you about tape. It's very reliable. For weddings that I did, there is no second take. Tape is still the most reliable storage medium.

HV30 is a consumer cam so it's not the best low light camera. However, learning the light trick to lock down gain, it does help a lot as you have a clean video. I can then adjust the brightness in post.
__________________
LA Color Pros Blog
RODE Authorized Reseller . Comer LED Camera Lights . TakyBox HTML5 Menu Generator
Taky Cheung is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:36 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network