GL-2 SD memory issues at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 20th, 2005, 03:20 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mundelein, Illinois
Posts: 4
GL-2 SD memory issues

Guys, does anyone know, what is the size or brand limitations for the SD memory chip for GL-2, cause i have problems using multiple 512Mb chips, I tried Lexar, Transcend. The problem is :
After taking shots , I try to replay them on the camcorder, they come up as "unidentified " on a gray field with a black cross. If i use original memory (8Mb) or SanDisk 256Mb it works fine, all the 512Mb chips were right from the store, brand new. I can download them to pc and view them but not at the camcorder. Any Ideas?
Contacted Canon Support, bunch of F...ks! They don't even know what this camera supports, just told me that we sell Lexar 512Mb, I asked them: Did you tested, answer was "No!"

Please Help!
Rich Sutrop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2005, 04:28 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 2,863
A while ago I tested a 256MB, and a 512MB TwinMOS SD card in my XM2.
(Now, I use a TwinMOS 128MB SD card)

They both worked without any problems.
I have never tried Lexar or any other brands than TwinMOS, so I can't comment on them.
Trond Saetre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2005, 06:02 PM   #3
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mundelein, Illinois
Posts: 4
Thanks, I'm not sure if it issue with cam or just have to use some specific brand names. But the ones I've purchased, did not work (unable to review images in "Play"mode). Now I'm using SanDisk 256Mb.
Rich Sutrop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2005, 06:03 PM   #4
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mundelein, Illinois
Posts: 4
Also, were u able to view them on Camcorder when using 512 ?
Rich Sutrop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2005, 05:44 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 2,863
> Also, were u able to view them on Camcorder when using 512 ?

Yes, I could.
Trond Saetre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2005, 12:20 PM   #6
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mundelein, Illinois
Posts: 4
Guys, please more comments, I really would like to resolve this issue, just tell me what you are using, should i send Cam for repair or it's something not to worry about.
Rich Sutrop is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:40 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network