Audio problems xfering VHS into GL2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 22nd, 2005, 12:47 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 64
Audio problems xfering VHS into GL2

I'm a new GL2 owner and am trying to copy some VHS content onto the GL2. At first, I tried using S-video via a 10-year-old B&O Super-VHS VCR, but I'm unable to get video or audio on the S-video. I can get audio using the RCA plugs, but there's no video RCA out port on the B&O.

Using a cheapie Zenith VCR with standard three-plug video/audio connections, I get audio as well as video, but the audio is way low. Even when boosting it by 150 percent in iMovie, it's barely acceptable.

Here are the settings I'm using for this:

In the VCR screen menu...
--> REC MODE: SP
--> OUTPUT CH: L/R
--> AUDIO DUB: AUDIO IN
--> MIC: (Disbaled)
--> MIC ATT: (Disabled)
--> AUDIO ATT: OFF
--> AUDIO MODE: 16 BIT
--> AV/DV OUT: OFF

On the GL2 camera body exterior (not sure of these have any effect on copying from a VHS machine, though)...
--> AUDIO REC LEVEL is on M
--> LEVELS ARE MANUALLY SET TO about 25 PERCENT (this was the last setting I used when I attached an external mic a few days ago)

The B&O machine has been rechipped at least twice to extend its life and there are some operational peculiarities when using its remote, so I'm thinking there's simply a problem in activating its S-video port. As for the Zenith cheapie, it's basic but otherwise has worked fine for me in the past.

This audio matter is driving me nuts.

Thanks,
Leigh
__________________
Leigh Hanlon | Chicago, USA
GL2 - Final Cut Studio
Leigh Hanlon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2005, 02:07 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
Can you plug the B&O s-video into something else (monitor?) to verify that it's really working? Have you tried your s-video cable with other devices to verify that it's OK? Or tried another s-video cable? There are other types of mini-DIN 8 cables which might fit but not work. You may need to set something on the VCR menu too.

You are aware that you still need to use the RCA audio cables with s-video... right? The mini-DIN cable only carries the video signal. Why have you set your audio levels to 25% if they're too low? Try raising them, or try auto levels.

Other than that I can't help since I don't have a GL-2... sorry.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2005, 04:18 PM   #3
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
As Boyd points out, it's important to realize that an S-video cable carries only a video signal. There is no audio carried over an S-video cable. Hope this helps,
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2005, 11:43 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 64
I'm using the S-video cable that came with the GL2, so I'm assuming it's OK. I don't have any other monitors to test the output on.

However, maybe I need to adjust the audio levels even though the manual doesn't say so? I'm following the directions on Page 101 of the GL2 instruction manual, and there's no mention of audio levels being affected by whether the REC LEVEL switch is set to A or M (which apparently affects audio dubbing, as described on page 110).
__________________
Leigh Hanlon | Chicago, USA
GL2 - Final Cut Studio
Leigh Hanlon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2005, 12:36 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 64
Well, I switched the REC LEVEL to A, and the audio transferred at full intensity. I also found that when set to M, I could also raise the levels manually.

In retrospect, this is obvious, but if it's explained in the manual, I managed to miss it.

I also switched AV/DV OUT to ON. Does this make a difference?
__________________
Leigh Hanlon | Chicago, USA
GL2 - Final Cut Studio
Leigh Hanlon is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:25 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network