12-bit or 16-bit sound? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 23rd, 2003, 11:34 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 34
16 or 12 bit?

I have Canon XM-2 since a week back, but not yet Vegas 4.0.

I have a question of audio.

If I use 16-bit (page 54) is it then impossible to afterwards insert other audio in my film? For instance, if I do an interview in 16-bit can I then, when editing, insert even backgrounds music to the tape?

Can somebody explain this 16-bit and 12-bit little more than in the manual?
__________________
"The artist is nothing without the gift, but the gift is nothing without work."
Torsten Blomfeldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2003, 11:50 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Albany, NY 12210
Posts: 2,650
Assuming Vegas is like FinalCut, you would use a separate program to resample all new audio (audio you didn't get on tape) and convert it to a single standard. In my case, it's an 48Khz, 16 bit AIFF file, if I remember right.

Iíve always understood bits to refer to the amount of information thatís captured with each sample. To make a digital recording of an analog sound, there is the sample rate (number of times per second that a digital snapshot of the sound is created) and the amount of information captured in that instant. Thatís a real dumbed down explanation, but the best I can do. Maybe some of the more scientific people here can do a better job of it.
Marco Leavitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2003, 12:43 PM   #3
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
Hello Torsten
For the best little book on audio for digital video production see Jay Rose's "Audio Postproduction for Digital Video". It will tell you everything you need to know...and far more. After the first 3-4 chapters you'll be able to bore anyone at a dinner!

You can layer-in any number of channels of audio (or whatever Vegas allows) during your editing work. If you then print your finished product to tape you would then just mix it down.
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2003, 12:47 PM   #4
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,529
Vegas Here!

I use 16 bit from my XM2 to Vegas. It edits using this format, runs at 48,000Hz full stereo. I do Stereo recordings and use interviews on channel 1 and/or 2. I've had no problems. Vegas4 and the XM2, IMHO, is a killer combo.

I'm happy,

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2003, 08:01 PM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Tickfaw, LA
Posts: 1,217
On the GL-2 unless you really want 4-track it probably is not all that useful to record 12 bit. One the XL-1 using 12 bit allows you to record on all 4-tracks simultaneously.
__________________
Nathan Gifford
Southern Cyclist Magazine & Productions

For quick answers try our Search!
To see me and Rob Lohman click here
Nathan Gifford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2005, 12:48 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: PAL land
Posts: 87
12-bit or 16-bit sound?

about the 12-bit or 16-bit sound setting in the GL1 menu - I imagine 16-bit sounding better, but what's the catch?
__________________
J.
Jan van den Hemel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2005, 01:20 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 471
12 bit allows for 4 channels of recording on tape -- only useful to some, and only useful if your hardware offers a way to do it, which I don't believe yours does.

Stay with 16 bit.

GB
R Geoff Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2005, 01:35 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: PAL land
Posts: 87
Ah, ok.

What kind of hardware do you mean?
__________________
J.
Jan van den Hemel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2005, 04:21 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 471
The Canon XL1, for example, has an add-on device that allows you to attach four microphones at once.

GB
R Geoff Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2005, 05:26 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: PAL land
Posts: 87
I assume that's pretty cool, for real-time surround sound recording purposes or something futuristic like that.

Why does the XM1/GL1 not have this add-on when it does allow for 12-bit sound recording?
__________________
J.
Jan van den Hemel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2005, 05:37 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 242
All camcorders have the option to select between the two.

The manufacturers seem to believe that you might want to overdub your original recordings on the tape with narrations or sound effects. Also you might print back to tape after doing a 4 track edit in certain setups.
__________________
Brandon Greenlee
Brandon Greenlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2005, 05:42 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: PAL land
Posts: 87
I see. In that case, I'll stick to 16-bit sound.

Thanks!
__________________
J.
Jan van den Hemel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2005, 05:09 AM   #13
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
4-channel recording (qvailable on the XL1/2) is handy for some events. An example is to use the on camera mic for stero ambient sound, and to have wireless mics on the groom and on the officiant and/or at the podium for readers at the ceremony. This shold give clean audio for all spopken parts.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2005, 01:31 AM   #14
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,529
12 bit Audio? . .Do I get extra channels?

Yeah, full of questions today.

1/- How do I set this up and then Capture to NLE?

2/- What would I use this for? It appears from the User Manual that I get 2 x 2 channels of stereo? This a good thing?

TIA,

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2005, 04:46 PM   #15
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,529
Nope? No takers? No one understand? :-(

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:28 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network