GL2 Final Cut capturing problem at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 20th, 2005, 08:38 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 11
GL2 Final Cut capturing problem

Much kudos to whoever can help out. My Mac G5 won't recognize this Canon GL2 camera I have. I've tried both Final Cut and iMovie. I have the camera set to VCR mode, plugged in with the adapter, with a tape running.

Here's what I've ruled out:
-Firewire cable (I've tried several)
-Mac Firewire port (other devices work)
-mostly ruled out Software settings (I've tried two different applications, and I'm comfortable with Final Cut, though I haven't used GL2's much).

I was thinking the Firewire port on the camera may be to blame, but this camera was used for capturing recently by someone else. Are there any settings on that camera that people can think of that might cause this?

Please help, I'm going crazy! Thank you!

Justin
Justin Montanino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 20th, 2005, 08:47 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin Montanino
(I've tried two different applications, and I'm comfortable with Final Cut, though I haven't used GL2's much).
So what happens with iMovie? Does it have the same problem?

I've heard that some Canon cameras don't mix well with Macs. Is anything else plugged into your firewire ports? If so try unplugging everything but the camera. Do you have an external firewire drive? You can try plugging the camera into its pass-through port if available.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 23rd, 2005, 05:31 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5
Mac g5 + GL2

I had the same problem...then I realized I had the usb card wire hooked up and not the Video fire wire. The "apple firewire (720 x 480)" should be your setting, works like a charm on mine, I just pulled it outa the box and it fired right up.
Ted Kazear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2005, 10:36 AM   #4
Tourist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin Montanino
Much kudos to whoever can help out. My Mac G5 won't recognize this Canon GL2 camera I have. I've tried both Final Cut and iMovie. I have the camera set to VCR mode, plugged in with the adapter, with a tape running.

Here's what I've ruled out:
-Firewire cable (I've tried several)
-Mac Firewire port (other devices work)
-mostly ruled out Software settings (I've tried two different applications, and I'm comfortable with Final Cut, though I haven't used GL2's much).

I was thinking the Firewire port on the camera may be to blame, but this camera was used for capturing recently by someone else. Are there any settings on that camera that people can think of that might cause this?

Please help, I'm going crazy! Thank you!

Justin
Justin
I just got a new GL 2 and was having problems as well. I had the FW cable plugged into the front port of my G5 and, Nothing. I plugged it into my FW port in my Apple Display and it worked fine so try another port maybe.
Dean Cleary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2005, 03:10 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Waynesboro, PA
Posts: 648
Have you tried turning on the cam before opening FCP?
Matt Stahley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2005, 08:22 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 205
I have found that my second, newer GL2 conflicts when an external HD when its FW800 cable is plugged into my Powerbook 17". If you have any other external firewire external hardware I suggest you try removing it. The 2nd GL2 worked fine once the external HD was removed. My first GL2 has no such problems and will share firewire capability.
Bill Hardy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2005, 01:02 PM   #7
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Similar Problem Here

I just tried to connect my GL2 to my Mac Dual 2.7 in my home office. It causes the G5 to freeze up and the only way to get out is to hold the power button down until the computer shuts down. The strange thing is, it works just fine at my office on my dual 2.5. They are both similar computers, each: a G5, running Tiger, running FCP 5.0, connecting in the front FireWire port, GL2 on and in VTR mode.

-------
update - I just tried it again. This time I opend FCP up without the FireWire connected, then closed it. Then plugged the FireWire in (in front) and opened it up again and it accepted it just fine. Go figure.
  Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:48 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network