10 seconds before recording at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 6th, 2005, 09:07 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 75
10 seconds before recording

My gl2 doesnt start recording stuff until 7-10 seconds after i hit the record button. Why? and can i change this to record immediately?

-Thanks,
Ben

Oh, and yes i searched the forums for a similar topic before i posted this.
Ben Bixby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2005, 09:45 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Ben,

I don't own the Gl-2 but do own the XL-1 and XL-2. One thing they both have and I assume your GL-2 has is a 10 second timer that shows up in the vf when you start recording. This is not a delay before recording starts. It is a shot timer to tell you about how long to hold a shot before moving on to something else.

If this isn't what you are referring to, then please explain. It shouldn't take that long for recording to actually start after you hit the record button if the camera is already powered up.

regards,

=gb=
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2005, 04:38 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 81
Just to confirm -- the GL2 does have that same 10-second scene timer. (I use it as a kind of "pre roll" indicator to be sure that I leave plenty of head room for editing.) The camera is recording video the whole time that this timer is displayed.
Jim OMalley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2005, 03:10 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 75
huh, alright, thanks guys, it was just when i go to play it back it seems like theres a delay. o well, i can deal with it, but thank you for responding.

-ben
Ben Bixby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2005, 03:29 PM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Ben,

There will be some delay if the camera has gone into VCR stop mode where it shuts down the tape transport to protect the heads and tape. But it should not be a full 10 seconds. Look in the upper right corner of the vf. If it says 'STOP' instead of 'PAUSE', then it has gone into vcr stop mode. This is also a configurable item on the XL1s and XL2 series. You can choose to have the camera completely power down instead of going into stop mode. But, you would know that because you would have to physically turn the camera on again in order to start recording.

regards,

=gb=
Greg Boston is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:37 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network