Silly thing about GL2 -- DC terminal at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 26th, 2002, 02:00 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Madrid/Spain
Posts: 44
Silly thing about GL2

Hi.
May be a silly thing, but I canīt find a function for the 5 Volt CC terminal just above the headphone and mic terminals on that camcorder.

Any idea?

Ignacio
Ignacio Artiņano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2002, 11:01 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arlington VA
Posts: 1,034
The only thing I could think of is a 5V AC->DC adapter, but I'm not gonna risk blowing up the camcorder by trying it. :)
Peter Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2002, 11:37 AM   #3
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
The mysterious 5v terminal really has little practical purpose. The XL1s also features such a terminal, but in this case the terminal powers the MA-200 and MA-100 units. But in the case of the GL2 this hole seems to be without purpose; consider it the GL2's belly-button.
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2002, 01:05 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Madrid/Spain
Posts: 44
More light over the mystery

Thanks Ken for your post.

Now Iīm sure that the 5Volt CD is for the MA-300 (accesory for 2 XLR inputs of the GL2). But I donīt quite understand, that 5 volt DC, may give enough power for the 12-48 volts required for the Fanthom supply. ????

Ignacio A.
Ignacio Artiņano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2002, 01:19 PM   #5
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
Ignacio,
Actually, I believe that the MA-300 for the GL2 draws its power directly from the "Smart Shoe". I have a GL2 (but not the MA-300) and know that the shoe provides direct power to the tiny 3 watt light accessory. So I would imagine that it also powers the MA-300 directly.

The GL2 cannot provide phantom power to mics. So the 5v terminal remains a "belly-button".
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2002, 01:41 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Madrid/Spain
Posts: 44
Hi again.

Probably the answer is in the MA-300 itself, or in the accessory userīs manual.
I also have an XM2 (pal version of GL2) and I should like to know how to conect an XLR mic fantom powered, sennheiser M66 or similar.

By the time, the "belly-button" is still valid

Ignacio
Ignacio Artiņano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2002, 06:20 PM   #7
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
You do not need "phantom" power for the ME-66 microphone. This is a modular mic system that separates the mic from its power source. With your camera you normally purchase the K6 power module (which holds a AA battery to power the mic) with the ME-66 then connect the mic to an MA-300 or to another brand of xlr adapter such as a BeachTek or Studio-1 unit.
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2002, 09:38 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dahlonega, Ga.
Posts: 5
Old mic

My first DV cam was a Panasonic 1-chip EZ-whatever back in '98. I had a shotgun mic that had a 2-prong connector on the end of its cable - one for audio and one for power. The spacing of the holes on the cam would seem to match the old connector. I believe nothing is mentioned in the manual about it because Canon doesn't make a mic with that kind of connector - but accomidates it.

Nice feature for those who need it - for the rest of us, it's still a belly-button.
Harry Baxter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2002, 07:28 AM   #9
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
The 5 VDC is for powering several accessory mics that were in the Canon line; e.g., the ZM-100 mic stereo zoom mic (was stock mic on teh L1/L2) and a mixer mic (MM-??? from the L1/2 era). It is not phantom power.

FWIW: The ME66 with K6 module can do phantom or its own battery power.
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:18 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network